LST 0051: Latinx Theatre & Film: Home

Overviews

• Fifty key figures in Latinx and Latin American theatre
• Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino literature
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
• Latino Stats: American Hispanics by the Numbers
• Latino/a Popular Culture
• Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
• The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
• CREDO Reference 
• Oxford Reference 

Latino Theatre Companies

• The 50 Playwrights Project
• Aguijón Theatre Company (Chicago)
• Borderlands Theatre Company (Tuscon, AZ)
• Cara Mia Theatre Company (Dallas)
• Casa 0101 (Los Angeles)
• Colectivo El Pozo (Chicago)
• El Teatro Campesino (California)
• eSe Teatro (Seattle)
• GALA Hispanic Theatre (Washington DC)
• Hi Arts Theatre (NYC)
• INTAR (NYC)
• LARK US/Mexico Playwright Exchange (NYC)
• Latinx Theatre Commons
• Latinx Theatre in the U.S.
• Los Angeles Theatre Center Latino Theatre Company
• Milagro Theatre (Potrland, OR)
• Pregones Theatre (NYC)
• Repertorio Español (NYC)
• Su Teatro (Denver)
• Teatro Avante (Miami)
• Teatro del Pueblo (Saint Paul, MN)
• Teatro Luna (Chicago)
• Teatro Prometero (Miami)
• Teatro Público de Cleveland
• Teatro Vista (Chicago)
• Teatro Visión (San Jose, CA)
• Teatro Vivo (Austin)

Web Sites, Blogs, and Trade Magazines

• 2AmT
• ArtsBeat (New York Times Blogs)
• Contemporary Playwrights of Color
• Doollee.com
• The Feminist Spectator
• Internet Broadway database
• HowlRound
• New Dramatists
• New York Times Theatre Section
• Ticketmaster
• American Theatre magazine

Images

• Playbill Vault
• John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera 
• ARTStor
• Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
• Library of Congress American Memory Project
• New York Public Library digital collections

Streaming Videos

• BroadwayHD
• Digital Theatre
• Films from Kanopy
• Filmmakers Library Online 
• PBS Video Collection

See also Finding Videos.

Guide to Evaluating Information

Texts:

American Drama and Theatre

• Latino Literature
  More than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
• TCG Books Play Collection.
  Diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

• Twentieth Century North American Drama
  1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

• North American Theatre Online
  bibliographic records: authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information.

  JumboSearch for Books:    

Note: terms used in books and articles published in the past as well as language used in library catalogues are becoming outdated. We acknowledge that cataloging approaches were designed in a racist and white-centered system. Before we can change that completely, we need to include all possible keywords for the most comprehensive search results possible. For examples: Latin/Latino/Latina/latinx, Hispanic Americans, Spanish Americans, Chicano/a, Cuban American, and so on.

Two broad subject browsing patterns in the Library catalogs:

• Hispanic Americans in the performing arts.
•  Hispanic American theater

Some random sample titles from the above browsing:

• Blacktino queer performance
• Chicanas/Latinas in American theatre: a history of performance
• The color of theater: race, culture, and contemporary performance
• Hispanic theatre in the United States
• Homecoming queers: desire and difference in Chicana Latina cultural production
• José, can you see?: Latinos on and off Broadway
• La voz Latina: contemporary plays and performance pieces by Latinas
• Latin numbers: playing Latino in twentieth-century U.S. popular performance
• Latinx theater in the times of neoliberalism
• Negotiating performance: gender, sexuality, and theatricality in Latin/o America
• Performance, identity, and immigration law: a theatre of undocumentedness
• Performing the US Latina and Latino borderlands
• Performing queer latinidad: dance, sexuality, politics
• Pregones Theatre: a theatre for social change in the South Bronx
• Stages of conflict : a critical anthology of Latin American theater and performance
• The state of Latino theater in the United States
• The theater of revisions in the Hispanic Caribbean
• Trans/acting: Latin American and Latino performing arts

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.

    Journal and Magazine Articles 

A. All-Subject Databases

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Performing Arts and Latinx Sources

• Performing Arts Periodicals Database
• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

• Latin American Ephemera Collections at Princeton
• Latin American Pamphlets (19th to the early 20th centuries)

C. Cross Searching Related Databases

• In EBSCOhost, you can select to search across the following subject databases, among others:
• America: History & Life
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA  ( for drama criticism & theatre history)
• Music Index Online
• Women's Studies International

**Search by the title of the article in JumboSearch when the full text is not readily available in the databases..

    Newspaper Articles 

• Access World News (rich regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)

**A complete list of Newspaper Collections, current and historical

---