top box
Note: The NAVLE exam was extensively rewritten in 2013-2014 and earlier materials may not reflect the current content or style of the exam. This guide was adapted from the University of Pennsylvania Library's guide on NAVLE resources
General Information
Administered since 2000, the NAVLE consists of 360 clinically relevant multiple-choice questions and is a requirement for licensure to practice veterinary medicine in all licensing jurisdictions in the U.S. and Canada. Developed in collaboration with the National Board of Medical Examiners® (NBME®), the NAVLE is offered at Prometric computer testing centers throughout North America and certain overseas sites (from the International Council for Veterinary Assessment 2022-2023 Annual Report).
Many of the resources in this guide are based on recommendations from annual reports prepared by the Student American Veterinary Medical Association (SAVMA)
Websites for NAVLE prep
Free resources
-
American Association of Veterinary State BoardsThe entity that reports board scores to the jurisdiction where a veterinarian wishes to be licensed and a resource for information about the regulation of the profession. This site has links to test sites, state boards and approved continuing education information.
-
International Council for Veterinary Assessment (ICVA)Includes information for candidates on the qualifying exam, clinical skills assessment and the licensing exam as well as information on the board itself.
-
VINIncludes the Veterinary Student National Board Review and NAVLE Review and Preparation Course. Requires free student registration on VIN website.
-
Martindale's Virtual Veterinary CenterVeterinary science by subject. A personal website with an enormous and comprehensive collection of course and textbook content.
-
Vet Candy NAVLE PrepFree with registration. Over 50 specialist-led video lessons, 15 textbooks, and more than 1000 practice questions, including trivia-style video questions, timed practice quizzes, strategy and podcast lessons,
-
VetPrep Daily DoseVetPrep's Daily Dose is a FREE service that gives you access to NAVLE® relevant questions. Sign up and you'll be emailed a topical question every weekday. Take a few minutes each day to test yourself!
-
ZukuReview Question of the DaySign-up to receive a free NAVLE question of the day in your inbox from Zuku Review.
-
ZukuReview Useful ToolsOnline veterinary learning tools, prep notes, and study strategy lectures
-
Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC)One hundred parasitology questions and answers tailored specifically for the boards. Created by the Companion Animal Parasite Council.
-
eClinpathOnline textbook on Veterinary Clinical Pathology from Cornell University of Veterinary Medicine
Subscription study resources
Many student prepare by subscribing to VetPrep or Zuku Review in the months before the test and/or periodically testing their knowledge by taking the ICVA Self Assessments.
-
VetPrepAn online, interactive study resource for veterinary licensing exams consisting of a database of more than 2000 questions, formulated to highlight primary areas of interest in veterinary medicine. Apps for iOS and Android available. ($)
-
Zuku ReviewAn online, subscription-based NAVLE review course that includes over 3000 questions, flashcards, and self-assessment tests.($)
-
ICVA Self-AssesmentsIn cooperation with the National Board of Medical Examiners, the ICVA offers web-based NAVLE Self-Assessments. All NAVLE Self-Assessments follow the current blueprint of the NAVLE.
Regular Self-Assessment fee is $50.00
Expanded Feedback Self-Assessment fee is $65.00
Study advice
Study strategy videos from Zuku Review
-
ICVA NAVLE YouTube ChannelVideos about NAVLE from the International Council for Veterinary Assessment (ICVA)
SAVMA's Most Helpful Review Books
-
The Small Animal Veterinary Nerdbook
by
First published in 1994 as a guide to help veterinary students survive clinics with more grace, poise, and knowledge than ever before, The Small Animal Veterinary Nerdbook is now a classic for veterinary students.
Call Number: Request through iLLISBN: 9780964151857Publication Date: 2009
Other Vet Library books which may be helpful
-
Anatomy of Domestic Animals
by
Call Number: SF 761 P284a 2007ISBN: 9780962311420Publication Date: 2007 -
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult
by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline, 7th Edition provides up-to-date information on feline and canine disease in the familiar, popular, and trusted 5-Minute Veterinary Consult format. This reference puts all the necessary information regarding common diseases and conditions in dogs and cats at the reader's fingertips. Covering 845 specific disorders, Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult is the most comprehensive and timely reference on canine and feline medicine available today.
Call Number: SF991 .B534 2021ISBN: 9781119513155Publication Date: 2021 -
Canine Anatomy
by
The National Veterinary Medical Series (NVMS) is an effective, economical system for learning and review. Basic and clinical veterinary sciences are outlined in a practical format that enables you to master large amounts of information in a limited amount of time. The books in the NVMS help you prepare for National Boards and the Clinical Competency Test and are excellent resources for problem-based learning.
Call Number: SF 767 D6 S524c 1999ISBN: 0683300806Publication Date: 1999 -
Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians
by
Written by veterinarians, including many board-certified specialists, and veterinary technicians, this comprehensive textbook is divided into six major sections covering nearly all the major content areas in the veterinary technology curriculum. The text contains helpful learning features, including introductions, boxed technician tips, and suggested readings - all written at a level appropriate for technicians. Comprehensive text covering all areas of the curriculum. Written specifically for technicians. Presents detailed information on the role of the technician in every aspect of veterinary practice. Features helpful pedagogical aids such as introductions, suggested readings, and boxed Technician Tips.
Call Number: SF745 .C625 2006ISBN: 0721606121Publication Date: 2005 -
Clinical Veterinary Advisor
by
The indispensable resource for the busy small animal practitioner. Providing easy-to-use, cutting-edge information, Côté's Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Dogs and Cats, 4th Edition is like six books in one?- with concise coverage of diseases and disorders; procedures and techniques; differentials, mnemonics, and lists; laboratory tests; clinical algorithms; and a drug compendium. UPDATED! Videos demonstrate important findings that static images cannot convey, such as characteristic lameness and ultrasound findings. UPDATED! Tech Tips cover more than 850 diseases and disorders that are especially relevant to the technician's daily experience in the clinic. UPDATED! 200 customizable printable client education handouts are included online and available in English or Spanish. Highly referenced diseases and disorders presented in alphabetical order makes sought-out information easy to retrieve. Extensive cross referencing throughout the text offers quick access to all pertinent information. Hundreds of expert international contributing authors ensure the information is the most accurate and up-to-date. SIX-BOOKS-IN-ONE offers invaluable content, such as diseases and disorders; procedures and techniques; differential diagnosis; laboratory tests; clinical algorithms; and drug formulary. Pedagogical icons reflect content to alert readers to unique elements within each monograph. Vibrant website with searchable content and extensive bonus material enhances information from the print book. NEW! Expert Consult website with fully searchable eBook allows quick identification of any topic and its related information in the six different sections of the book. NEW! Fully revised and updated content plus dozens of all-new chapters, including: Hyperadrenocorticism (food-related) Meningoencephalitis of unknown etiology Hypercalcemia (feline idiopathic) Hops toxicosis Movement disorders Heart murmur (incidental finding) Polyneuropathy Urethral occluder placement Fecal transplant Bronchoalveolar lavage (blind) NEW! Informed client consent handouts provide simple explanations of procedures and denote foreseeable risks in both English and Spanish).
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780323554510Publication Date: 2019 -
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine
by
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology, Fifth Edition offers a comprehensive overview of hematology, hemostasis, clinical chemistry, urinalysis, cytology, and reference intervals in a highly accessible outline format. With information on all major domestic species, the text is designed for the reader to quickly find answers to clinical questions. Taking a problem-solving approach to the interpretation of laboratory data, this book includes clinical cases to illustrate the concepts of laboratory data interpretation, with tables and key words to aid readers in locating and applying information. The fifth edition has been fully revised to reflect the latest knowledge, diagnostic methods, and practices in veterinary laboratory medicine.
Call Number: Reserve Stacks ; SF 769 D911v 2011ISBN: 9781118275528Publication Date: 2012 -
-
Guide to Equine Clinics
by
Call Number: SF 951 P37, also available for free online from vet-booksISBN: 9780962311468 -
-
Handbook of Pig Medicine
by
Handbook of Pig Medicine provides the knowledge needed to recognize, diagnose, treat and control pig diseases in practice. The book includes high quality illustrations which, where appropriate, complement written descriptions of clinical signs. It deals with medical, surgical and reproductive problems in pigs. Clinical examination of the individual pig and the investigation of herd problems are covered in detail, along with a study on pig population medicine. Each body system is considered with special attention to clinical signs, diagnosis and treatment. Additionally, chapters in the book discuss obstetrics, pig haematology and biochemistry as well as differential diagnosis. Other topics discussed, include organic and outdoor pigs; problems of the pet pig, sampling, euthanasia and post-mortem examination.
Call Number: SF 971 J33 2007ISBN: 9780702028281Publication Date: 2007 -
Large Animal Internal Medicine
by
Utilize a problem-oriented approach to the diagnosis of diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, and goats. Large Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition covers the diagnosis and management of disease in both ruminant and equine internal medicine. As the first veterinary internal medicine text to use a problem-based approach, it offers discussions of over 150 clinical signs and manifestations, as well as comprehensive coverage of laboratory and diagnostic testing. New to this edition is a versatile online reference platform and coverage of conditions that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand. In addition, thoroughly revised and updated content includes new vaccines and vaccination protocols; the most current laboratories for DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers. It's everything you need to stay up to date with the latest information on preventing and treating disease in large animals. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you've observed and what laboratory tests reveal. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. NEW! Expert Consult platform provides a versatile digital resource including bonus content, useful references, and videos to meet the needs of practicing equine and large animal veterinarians. NEW! Global conditions of importance are covered, including those previously not discussed, that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand.' NEW! Coverage of emerging and re-emerging diseases includes the new pathogen discovery. NEW! Assessment of vaccination status and susceptibility to infection discusses how antibody titers can predict protection for some pathogens. NEW! Description of epigenetics and metagenomics provides detailed coverage of these emerging areas of interest. NEW! Table of zoonoses obtained from large animals includes symptoms and disinfection needs. NEW! Videos demonstrate how to perform ultrasound imaging on an equine and cow abdomen clearly showing where to position the probe, and what depth to use for scans of the kidneys, liver, and bowel. NEW! Coverage of genetic disorders, Hydrocephalus in Fresians and Pulmonary hypoplasia with Anasarca in Dexter cattle help you to treat these disorders. NEW! Extensively updated content clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on the West Nile Virus, therapeutic drug monitoring, muscle disorders, GI microbiota, the genetic basis for Immune-mediated myositis in Quarter Horses, discoveries in antimicrobial drugs, anthelmintic, and vaccines, and more!
Call Number: Online and in print: Reserve Stacks SF745 .L322 2020ISBN: 9780323554459Publication Date: 2019 -
BRS Pharmacology
by
BRS Pharmacology, Seventh Edition, equips medical, dental, and other health professions students with the preparation needed to excel on licensing examinations and confidently transition to healthcare practice. The popular BRS series format presents concise coverage of the general principles of drug mechanisms and detailed descriptions of how drugs act on major body systems, delivering vital information in a succinct, streamlined approach favored by today's students. This trusted review also familiarizes students with the pharmacologic principles of toxicology and details essential information on drugs used to treat anemia, disorders of hemostasis, infectious diseases, and cancer. Updated with powerful mnemonics and vibrant illustrations, the seventh edition strengthens students' retention and reinforces challenging concepts to help students ensure success from the USMLE to clinical practice. Dozens of new and updated illustrations clarify sites and mechanisms of action, relationships between drug classes, interactions and more. New cross references in the Comprehensive Examination point students to specific content for fast, efficient remediation. Concise outline format offers an efficient review of high-yield topics. Enhanced review questions emphasize USMLE format for the most effective board preparation. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781975105495Publication Date: 2019-08-20 -
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook
by
Call Number: Reserve Stacks SF917 .P734v 2018ISBN: 9781394172207Publication Date: 2018 -
Small Animal Internal Medicine
by
With hundreds of images, step-by-step procedures, and a practical clinical emphasis, Small Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition offers the foundation and tools you need to properly recognize, diagnose, and treat small animals with common internal conditions. Each section of the text takes a problem-oriented approach that begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management.
Call Number: Reserve Stacks SF991 .S634 2020ISBN: 9780323570145Publication Date: 2019 -
Small Animal Surgery
by
From basic procedures like spays, castrations, and declaws to advanced surgeries like craniotomy, vertal slots, and lung lobectomy, Fossum's Small Animal Surgery, 5th Edition is the go-to, full-color guide for everything that general veterinarians and vet students need to know about both soft tissue and orthopedic surgery. Five editors bring their expert perspective as they discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology.
Call Number: Online and Reserve Stacks SF911 .F67 2019ISBN: 9780323443449Publication Date: 2019 -
Ettinger's Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Veterinary Medicine** Now Ettinger's trusted, all-in-one veterinary resource is even better! Trusted by small animal veterinarians for more than 50 years, Ettinger's Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine adds new content on the field's leading issues and trends to its unmatched, "gold standard" coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of medical problems of dogs and cats. Coverage begins with the basics of veterinary medicine, followed by sections on differential diagnosis for chief complaints and for clinicopathologic abnormalities, and continues with techniques, minimally invasive interventional therapies, critical care, toxicology, diseases by body system, and comorbidities. Clinical information is presented in a way that reflects the practitioner's thought process. With each purchase of this two-volume print book, Ettinger's includes access to a fully searchable eBook featuring more than 750 videos that bring procedures to life. UNIQUE! 50th anniversary edition of this classic textbook. NEW! Coverage of the latest information and trends includes epilepsy, aerodigestive disorders, patient triage and stabilization, enteric protozoal diseases, pulmonary thromboembolism, point-of-care ultrasounds, immunodeficiencies, and more. More than 750 original clinical videos are included with purchase of the print book, providing content you can believe in. Forget those time-consuming searches on YouTube, as each video expertly breaks down veterinary procedures and important signs of diseases and disorders that are difficult or impossible to understand from written descriptions alone. NEW! PDFs in Techniques chapters include a printable pull list of the equipment and materials needed for specific techniques, along with check boxes (accessed through eBook included with print purchase). eBook version is included with purchase of the print book, allowing you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. The eBook also offers the complete collection of original video clips, heart sounds, client information sheets, and hyperlinking of references to their source abstracts in PubMed®. NEW! Additional new material is included on nutritional cardiomyopathy, coronavirus infections, host-microbial interactions in gastrointestinal health, and autonomic nervous system disorders. More than 200 clinical algorithms aid in disease identification and decision-making. Fully searchable online text offers quick access to the most important, newest, and relevant veterinary information. More than 250 client information sheets are available in the eBook (included with print purchase) with short, easy-to-understand clinical descriptions of conditions, diagnostics, and treatment options; these pages may be downloaded, customized, and printed as client handouts. Thousands of references for the printed book are accessible online. Expert contributors from around the world provide practical insight into the latest advances and issues affecting small animal medicine. NEW! Coverage of the latest information and trends includes epilepsy, aerodigestive disorders, patient triage and stabilization, enteric protozoal diseases, pulmonary thromboembolism, point-of-care ultrasounds, immunodeficiencies, and more. NEW! PDFs in Procedures & Techniques chapters include a printable pull list of the equipment and materials needed for specific procedures (accessed through the eBook included with print purchase).
Call Number: Reserve Stacks ; SF991 .T48 2024ISBN: 9780323779319Publication Date: 2024-02-15 -
Toxicology
by
The National Veterinary Medical Series (NVMS) is an effective, economical system for learning and review. Basic and clinical veterinary science are outlined in a practical format that enables you to master large amounts of information in a limited amount of time. The book in the NVMS helps you to prepare for National Boards and the Clinical Competency Test and are excellent resources for problem-based learning.
Call Number: Book Stacks SF 757.5 O86t 1996ISBN: 0683066641Publication Date: 1996
NAVLE prep
-
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) (1 Vol. )
by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam. It provides hundreds of questions and answers in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming exam, including but not limited to: anatomy; physiology; parasitology; bacteriology; hygiene; medicine and surgery; and more.
Call Number: SF759 .T45 2018ISBN: 9781731850508Publication Date: 2018 -
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) Part II - Pharmacology, Therapeutics, Parasitology, Hygiene
by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) - Part II - Pharmacology, Therapeutics, Parasitology, Hygiene Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam.
Call Number: SF759 .T45 2018ISBN: 9781731869616Publication Date: 2018 -
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) Part III - Physical Diagnosis, Medicine, Surgery
by
The Admission Test Series prepares students for entrance examinations into college, graduate and professional school as well as candidates for professional certification and licensure. The National Veterinary Boards (NBE)(NVB) - Part III Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam. It provides hundreds of questions and answers in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming exam, including but not limited to: physical diagnosis; medicine; surgery; and more.
Call Number: SF759 .T45 2018ISBN: 9781731869623Publication Date: 2018
