LibGuides: News Sources: Domestic News: Current & Historical

Tufts Newspapers

Newspapers@Tufts (1897-2022)
Digital reproductions of Tufts student newspapers dating from 1897-2022.

Boston Globe (1872-1989)
This database provides digital reproductions of every issue of the Boston Globe from 1872-1989.
Boston Globe (1980 - present)
This database provides text-only access to every issue from the Boston Globe from 1980-present.
Boston Herald (1991-present)
This database provides text-based access to every issue of the Boston Herald from 1991-present.
Boston Metropolitan Collection (1989-present)
This database provides access to 266 Boston Metro news sources including full-color image editions of the Boston Herald, Cape Cod Times, and Worcester Telegram and Gazette dating from 1989-present.
Massachusetts Newspapers (1988-present)
This database includes text-based access to a large number of newspapers published throughout Massachusetts dating from 1988-present.

The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2007)
Includes complete text from the Christian Science Monitor dating from 1908-2007. Digital reproduction
Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)
Includes complete text of the Los Angeles Times dating from1881-1996. Digital reproduction
New York Times (1851-2017)
Includes complete text of the New York Times dating from 1851-2017. Digital reproduction | ** Instructions for current access**
Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)
Includes complete text from the Pennsylvania Gazette dating from 1728-1800. Digital reproduction
Wall Street Journal (1923-2003)
Includes complete text of the Wall Street Journal from 1923-2003. Digital reproduction

Newspapers.com World Collection
Provides online access to historical newspapers from the early 1700s to the early 2000s. Contains full and partial coverage of both well-known titles and small local newspapers in the United States, Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Panama, and more. Digital reproduction.
News & Newspapers, ProQuest
This collection includes 23 different newspaper databases, with dates ranging from 1700-present. Digital reproductions and text only

American Prison Newspapers (1800-present)
Includes newspapers published in U.S. prisons dating from 1800-present. Digital reproduction
Brooklyn Newsstand (1850-1999)
Includes newspapers published in Brooklyn, NY from 1850-1999. Digital reproduction
California Digital Newspaper Collection, 1846-present
Includes regional newspapers from throughout California dating from1846-present. Digital reproduction
Chronicling America (Library of Congress), 1690-present
Includes an extensive collection of historic American newspapers dating from 1690-present. Some titles are citation only. Some titles are digital reproductions.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
Includes historic American newspapers dating from 1690-1922. Digital reproduction
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
Includes news by and for ethnic communities dating from 1799-1971. Digital reproduction
NewspaperCat,1850-2000
Tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean dating from 1850-2000. Citations only
New York State Historic Newspapers, 1725-present
Provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history dating from 1725-present. Digital reproduction

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Includes periodicals reflecting the voices of Black society and culture dating from 1825-1995. Digital reproduction
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Includes the contents of Black-owned newspapers dating from 1827-1998. Digital reproduction
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, 1800-1899
Includes content from Black-owned newspapers dating from 1800-1899. Digital reproduction
Afro-American (Baltimore), 1893-1998
Explore one of the most important Black-owned newspapers of the 20th Century, dating from 1893-1988. Digital reproduction
Chicago Defender, 1909-2010
Explore one of the most important Black-owned newspapers of the 20th Century, dating from 1909-2010. Digital reproduction

New York Amsterdam News Historical Newspapers
Explore one of the most important Black-owned newspapers of the 20th Century, dating from 1922-1993. Digital reproduction

Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980
Includes hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics, dating from 1808-1980. Digital reproduction

America's News Magazines, 1991-present
Includes The Atlantic, The New Republic, and Newsweek, dating from 1991-present. Text only

American Historical Periodicals (Gale)
Includes the American Antiquarian Society's digital archives of news, culture and editorials dating from 1681-1923. Digital reproduction

American Periodicals, 1740-1940
Includes hundreds of newspapers, magazines, and trade journals dating from 1740-1940. Digital reproduction
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843-2012
Includes historic issues of The Economist dating from 1843-2012. Digital reproduction and text only

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains the digital archive of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press dating from 1890-1992. Digital reproduction

Vogue Archive, 1892-present
Includes historic issues of Vogue Magazine dating from 1892-present. Digital reproduction