ILVS 76 Posthuman East Asia: Home

Overviews

• The Cambridge companion to environmental humanities
• The Cambridge companion to literature and the posthuman
• The Palgrave handbook of utopian and dystopian literatures
• The Routledge companion to literature and emotion
• The Routledge companion to literature and science
• The Routledge companion to science fiction
• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference

Visual Sources

Images

• ARTstor
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
• NYPL Picture Collection
• Creative Commons images

Streaming Videos

• Films from Kanopy
• Finding Videos

Use JumboSearch for Books and More 

Some recent titles of potential interest:

• Avenging nature: the role of nature in modern and contemporary art and literature (2020)
• Disability and the Posthuman: Bodies, Technology, and Cultural Futures .
• Dark scenes from damaged earth: the gothic Anthropocene (2022)
• Fear and nature: ecohorror studies in the Anthropocene (2021)
• From digital twins to digital selves and beyond engineering and social models for a trans-humanist world (2022)
• Japanese horror: critical essays on film, literature, anime, video games (2021)
• The Monster Theory Reader (2020)
• Plants, places, and power: toward social and ecological justice in German literature and film (2023)
• Posthuman metamorphosis: narrative and systems (2008)
• Religious transhumanism and its critics (2022)
• The self wired: technology and subjectivity in contemporary narrative (2002)
• Transhumanism as a new social movement: the techno-centred imagination (2020)
• Transhumanism: from ancestors to avatars (2021)
• Transhumanism, nature, and the ends of science ( 2019)
• We Have Always Been Cyborgs: Digital Data, Gene Technologies, and an Ethics of Transhumanism (2021)

 Use Subject Databases for Journal Articles 

• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier (all subjects)
• Art & Architecture Source
• ATLA Religion
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies)
• Women's Studies International

MLA Handbook Plus

Cite sources to

• Avoid plagiarism
• Give credit to the source of an idea
• Lend credibility to your arguments