Subject Librarian
Stacey Brownlie
she, her
Welcome!
This Research Guide is designed to support the research for your final paper. It is by no means exhaustive, but is meant to give you some key starting points.
Encyclopedias & Reference
- The Oxford Handbook of Nuclear SecurityProvides a comprehensive examination of efforts to secure sensitive nuclear assets and mitigate the risk of nuclear terrorism and other non-state actor threats.
- The Oxford Handbook of Space SecurityFocuses on the interaction between space technology and international and national security processes.
- The Oxford Handbook of U.S. National SecurityFrames the context, institutions, and processes the US government uses to advance national interests through foreign policy, government institutions, and grand strategy.
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and ConflictContains an extensive entry on nuclear warfare that discusses "Nuclear Weapons and the character of war," as well as the various strategies of deterrence.
- The Oxford International Encyclopedia of PeaceOffers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict
- CQ Press LibraryCQ Press Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
- SIPRI Yearbook OnlineArmaments, disarmament and international security. 2010-present.
- Janes Defence WeeklyImpartial independent insight into developments in equipment and technology, geopolitics, armed forces, markets and business.
- Janes International Defence ReviewIn print at Ginn Library (Fletcher). Unbiased intelligence and analysis across defence technology and equipment, state stability and international security issues.
Bibliographies & Lit Reviews
- Oxford BibliographiesHigh-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.
- Annual ReviewsLiterature reviews, synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in Political Science and other disciplines.
- Every CRS ReportNon-classified, topical research overviews produced for members of congress.
Websites
- Arms Control Association Fact SheetsThe Arms Control Association maintains over 100 regularly updated factsheets on a range of regional and topical arms control issues.
- Federation of American Scientists Nuclear NotebookA bimonthly "snapshot" of nuclear weapons programs around the world.