LibGuides: Political Science & International Relations (General): U.S. Law & Government

GovInfo

GovInfo
Final versions of official Federal publications from all three branches. From the Government Printing Office, Govinfo is the successor to the Federal Digital System (FDsys).

The White House
Press releases, proclamations, and information on presidential policies.
American Presidency Project
Nearly comprehensive database of U.S. presidential documents, speeches, press conferences, candidate debates, and more.
Miller Center: American President
Details about each administration. Transcripts and recordings of speeches. Locations and links to relevant primary source collections.
Presidential Libraries & Museums
Links to all of the Libraries. From the National Archives.
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Regulations.gov
Rules, comments, and supporting documents related to proposed federal regulations.
Presidential Documents from GovInfo
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary
Public Papers of the Presidents from GovInfo
Browse digital public papers of Presidents Herbert Hoover through Barack Obama
Executive Orders via the Federal Register
After the President signs an Executive order, the White House sends it to the Office of the Federal Register (OFR). This page contains these documents that have been published in the Federal Register
Presidential Studies Quarterly journal
Flagship publication of: Center for the Study of the Presidency.

HeinOnline
Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

Congressional Publications
Congressional Record (1789+), full text of published and unpublished Committee Hearings, full text of Bills (1989+), selected Committee Reports, selected CRS Reports, and more.

Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Committee Reports (1995+). Congress.gov is the successor to THOMAS.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Congressional reports and documents. 1817-1994.

U.S. Supreme Court
Recent opinions, historical cases, and docket calendar.
Oyez
Oyez (oh-yay) is the authoritative source for Supreme Court audio (oral argument and opinion announcements) since the 1955 installation of a recording system. Offers searchable, transcript-synced audio, plain-English case summaries, and detailed information on every justice.
SCOTUSblog
Comprehensive, non-partisan coverage of the Supreme Court.
Lexis Advance
A more full-featured version of Nexis Uni. Access must be requested through Ginn Library, but is available to all Tufts community members.

BillTrack50
Track bills at the state level. Requires you to create a free account.
Open States
Provides free data and tools related to state legislatures.

Nexis Uni
To track state bills, click on the "Advanced Search" link. On the next screen click on the " Legal" tab. Select "Statutes and Legislation" and then "US Bill Tracking." Run your search. Filter your results by selecting "Jurisdiction" in the left-hand column and selecting one or more states that you're interested in.