Race, Colonialism, & Diaspora Research at Tufts
This guide is not comprehensive, but is intended as a starting point for the interdisciplinary research of Africana, American, Asian American, Colonialism, and Latino Studies at Tufts, highlighting some of the most useful resources available through the Libraries and on the web.
Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need help with your individual research.
History
- America: History & LifeScholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada.
- Historical abstractsScholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Race
- Race Relations AbstractsArticles in areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Black PerspectivesHighly regarded home of public scholarship on global Black thought, history, and culture.
Women's and Gender Studies
- Women's Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
- GenderwatchCore journals and other publications in women's studies.
- Feminist Periodicals: a Current Lisiting of ContentsReprints table of contents pages of over 150 academic journals and special interest periodicals on women of color, art, law, health care, lesbian issues, and women around the world. Covers many international and grassroots titles not indexed in standard sources.
Sociology & Anthropology
- Sociological AbstractsLiterature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences.
- Anthropology PlusCombines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the UK Royal Anthropological Institute.
- AnthroSourceFrom the American Anthropological Association.
Religion
- ATLA Religion DatabaseCovers all religions and parts of the world.
Political Science
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)Cross-disciplinary coverage of the social sciences, focused on: anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Coverage back to 1951.
- PAIS IndexBroad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism). Includes PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1914 to present.
- Political Science DatabaseHundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals, from 1985.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsInternational political science and international relations. Journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers, from 1975.
Law, Crime, & Prisons
- Law Journal LibraryThis HeinOnline collection consists of full-text access to over 2,300 law journals, usually starting with the first volume and available through the most current content.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
- Criminal Justice DatabaseResearch on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
- JSTORCollection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but not the latest 3-5 years.
- Google ScholarIncludes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. Contains full text links to a few of Tufts subscribed databases such as Pubmed and scholarly articles that are available anywhere across the web.
- JumboSearchLarge, but not complete, cross-search of the Tufts Catalog and many subscription article databases.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
