Research Librarian
Patrick Quinn
he/him/his
Contact:
Lilly Music Library
Granoff Music Center (lower level)
20 Talbot Avenue
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155
Website
Granoff Music Center (lower level)
20 Talbot Avenue
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155
Historic Texts
1. Digital Texts and Imprints
- Afro-Americana Imprints 1535-1922
- American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900)
- AM Explorer (millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries.)
- Archives of sexuality & gender. LGBTQ history and culture since 1940
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800)
- John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera (includes historical playbills)
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- Hathi Trust digital library
2. Historic Newspapers and Magazines
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
- America's Historical Newspapers
- American Periodicals 1740-1900
- More
3. Archives, Local and Beyond
- North American Theatre Online
- The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Library
- Harvard Theatre Collection
- Tufts Digital Collections and Archives
Two archives locating tools:
4. Visual Sources
Digital Images
- ARTStor
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
- Library of Congress American Memory Project
- New York Public Library Picture Collection and Web Gallery of Images
Streaming Videos
Words, Definitions and Overviews
Finding a Play
- American Drama, 1714-1915 (more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth.)
- Twentieth Century North American Drama (Full texts of 1,900 plays from the United States and Canada)
- Play Index (find where a play is published -- in a collection, magazine, etc..)
Bibliographies, Journals, Books and Current News
1. Annotated Bibliographies & Review of Books:
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
- The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
- H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences (1994 - )
- New York Review of Books (1963 - )
Dissertations, published and forthcoming:
(Check out the bibliographies in recent dissertations on relevant topics.)
- Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertation Reviews (yet to be published dissertations)
2. Journals and Jounral Articles:
A. Two (familiar) collections of journals in all disciplines:
B. A few notable theatre journals:
C. Subject-databases of journal articles:
- In EBSCOhost, you can select to search across the following subject databases, among others:
- America: History & Life
- Art & Architecture Source
- Anthropology Plus
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
- LGBTQ+ Source
- MLA ( for drama criticism & theatre history)
- Music Index Online
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- (Atla) Religion Database
- Women's Studies International
- In ProQuest, you can select and search across the following subject databases among others:
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
- Index Islamicus (on Islamic subjects throughout the world)
3. JumboSearch for Books
Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of books on a topic,)
**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and sign up for a BPL , Tufts students and faculty eligible)
**"Digital books" on Internet Archive
4. Current Newspapers:
- Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
- Factiva (more international coverage)
**A complete list of Newspaper Collections, current and historical
web sites
- Broadway.com. (upcoming Broadway productions.)
- CurtainUp.com Current productions in NYC and a few other metro areas.
- Internet Broadway Database.
- New York Times Theater Listings. (current Broadway and Off-Braodway productions, with capsules of Times reviews).
- Playbill.com. (news stories about casting, new productions, etc..).
- Show Business Weekly. Up-to-date capsule reviews and news of theatre.
- Theatre Communications Group (TCG). (information on non-profit theaters in the U.S..)
- Theatermania.com. (news stories, current shows, etc. )
- UK Theatre Web.
- United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT)