Encyclopedias and textbooks
Use these books to get an introduction to a topic, for background reading, or for an overview of issues in women's & gender studies.
- Credo ReferenceA collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other references books on a wide range of topics. A good starting point for background information about a research topic.
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history by This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies by This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field.
Keywords for gender and sexuality studies by Introduces readers to a set of terms that will aid them in understanding the central methodological and political stakes currently energizing feminist and queer studies.- LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook by A free, openly licensed textbook on LGBTQ+ issues in the world on topics ranging from LGBTQ+ history, LGBTQ+ relationship, families, parenting, and health, to LGBTQ+ culture.
The SAGE encyclopedia of trans studies by More than 300 articles on a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter).
Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies by ISBN: 9781438491707Publication Date: 2022-11-01The 12 chapters cover LGBTQ+ history, culture, and Queer Theory, but also explore LGBTQ+ relationships, families, parenting, health, and education - as well as a separate chapter on how to conduct research on LGBTQ+ topics"
Search tips for finding books
The majority of our book collection can be found on Tisch Level 1. For help in browsing the collection, or identifying some subject headings for your topic, just ask!
You can search for books about your research in the library catalog in several ways:
Keyword Searching
Type in words that describe your topic, for example:
Subject Searching
Books in the catalog are described with Library of Congress subject headings. These are meant to be standardized terms that describe all books on a particular topic in the same way. One way to find subject headings relevant for your work is to look at the Jumbosearch record of a book that's related to your research, and see what headings are used for that book. Some examples of subject searches are:
Brandeis University Library has put together a LGBTQ+ Subject Headings guide of with Library of Congress Subject Headings for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex (LGBTQ+) identities and related materials.
Background Info
Doing a subject search in the library catalog (Note: use the dropdown menu to change your search to Browse by Subject) also allows you to retrieve specific types of background reference sources that might be useful in getting a broad overview of your topic. For example:
Search for books at Tufts and the World!
Search for books, videos, and everything we own in the Library Catalog (part of JumboSearch).
To locate books in other libraries when we either don't own them or our copy is checked out, use BLC WorldCat. Once you've found the book you want, use the BLC request form or ILLiad to request the book be delivered to Tisch. The book will be delivered to the Tisch Library circulation desk, within 2 to 5 days, and you will be notified via email on its arrival. There is no charge for this service.
