/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Music: Streaming Audio & Video Databases

Streaming Audio & Video Databases Licensed for the Tufts Community

Naxos Music Library  [NML]
The online streaming audio database of the Naxos recording label -- the world's current leading producer of classical music. The collection offers the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogues, as well as selected works in Jazz, Folk, and World music, and helpful educational products (such as recording liner notes, biographical and historical essays, opera synopses and libretti, a glossary and pronunciation guide). 
There is a YouTube video that provides a basic introduction to NML.

Naxos Music Library -- Jazz [NML Jazz]
Based on the Naxos Jazz label, this collection offers contemporary jazz from around the world, featuring artists and ensembles from the US, Scandinavia, Germany, Australia and New Zealand.  This database includes selected performances from additional labels, such as Chesky, innova, Intuition, Jazzwerkstatt (based in Berlin), Yellowbird, and especially Fantasy® (which includes the Debut and Galaxy labels).


Database of Recorded American Music  [DRAM]
DRAM is a collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.


Music Online -- Alexander Street Press
One interface to search any or ALL of the Alexander Street Press music databases described individually below.  The easiest way to gain access to audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content from ASP.


Music Online: Classical Music Library  [CML]
CML is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings. Included are tens of thousands of licensed tracks, covering all forms, genres, and time periods, from Gregorian chant to contemporary composers.
     Discover Classical Music Library's free biweekly music downloads!

Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Although not an audio database, it is simultaneously searchable through the Music Online interface.  Currently a work in progress (new scores are added every month) that will eventually contain over 50,000 Classical scores and manuscripts for study and analysis, representing 4,600 composers.

Music Online: American Music
American Music
is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
     As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection (no longer offered) is now here in American Music. The music of all Americans, including African Americans, is now consolidated here in an expanded American Music.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online, with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.  It includes a very useful "Browse by Song Title" feature, allowing you to find and compare recordings of a particular tune.

Music Online: Popular Music Library
This database from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music 
This growing database delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. It contains important contemporary genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and even some jazz.  It also includes other genres representing traditional musics - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more, but if these traditional musics are your interest, you should also try Smithsonian Global Sound and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, both described below. 

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries  [SGS]
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The database includes an array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
     Discover Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries'   free downloads!

Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music  
The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.  Derived from the authoritative 10-volume print edition, more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.  This online version includes both images and audio examples, and links out to video.

Music Online also searches streaming video collections:

Music Online: Classical Music in Video  
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Music Online: Dance in Video  
Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.  Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Music Online: Opera in Video  
Five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Stream video to your mobile device! All video is now supported for iPhone operating on 3G network or better and Android. Click on the mobile phone icon next to each video in the database to stream directly to your mobile device.

Subject Guide

Michael Rogan's picture
Michael Rogan
Contact:
Lilly Music Library
Granoff Music Center
617-627-2846
Subjects:Music

New Search Interface Available

Music & Performing Arts -- Alexander Street Press 
Try a NEW  interface to search the Alexander Street Press music collections:

  • American Song
  • Classical Music
  • Jazz Music
  • Popular Music
  • World Music

Send your feedback to:  michael.rogan@tufts.edu