PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
A research platform that gives access to content and powerful tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
What is covered:
Web of ScienceSM • Chinese Science Citation Database • Current Contents Connect® • Derwent Innovations IndexSM • BIOSIS Citation IndexSM • BIOSIS Previews® • Biological Abstracts® • CABI : CAB Abstracts® and Global Health® • Inspec® • Medline® • Food Science and Technology AbstractsTM • Zoological Record® • Journal Citation Reports® • Essential Science Indicators®
Links to the Cochrane Databases : including full-text systematic reviews of methodological studies. The reviews are both highly structured and systematic. Evidence from methodological research is included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, thus minimizing bias
MEDLINE : covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care
MeSH terms: Use these for concept searching
Keywords: Use when there is no MeSH term to describe your idea. Remember to truncate with the * to get variants; try alternate spellings; and try synonyms to capture as many ways as possible to decribe your topic.
Search concepts individually, then combine them.
Narrow your search by English; human; or type of article:
Review articles for overviews
EBM Reviews for evaluated studies
Export to Refworks
Ask-a-librarian: Stuck? Use this feature to send your search and your question to us.
Contains:In addition to MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains:
In-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher).
Some OLDMEDLINE citations that have not yet been updated with current vocabulary and converted to MEDLINE status.
Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH for MEDLINE.
Citations to some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral® and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
Citations for a subset of books available on the NCBI Bookshelf (a citation for both the book and each chapter or section of the book).
Use the MeSH browser to search by concept
Use the filters on the left for article types
Use the Advanced Search to combine separatly searched concepts
My NCBI: make a profile to save searches, or keep updated on a topic
Boolean Logic & Keyword Searching: Only keyword searching is available. Remember to use alternate spellings and synonyms for your concepts. Fill out the search form. After submitting the search, use the filters on the left to narrow down results.
Database Content: A cross disciplinary (humanities, social sciences, and sciences) database, from 1864 to present.
Times Cited: Look at other articles that used this article in their bibliography. A forward timeline on the topic.
Cited References; See this authors bibliography. A backward timeline of the topic
Related Records: Try to find other articels about this same topic.
Send the citations you like to RefWorks or Endnote
Make a profile to keep searches or keep updated on a topic of choice