View all Engineering Databases in the Tufts Collection.
View all Psychology Databases in the Tufts Collection.
General Index Databases
Multidisciplinary database with links to references and citing articles. Includes Scirus, which tracks the gray literature, including patents.
- Web of Science
- ProQuest Illustrated Technology
Multidisciplinary database covering technology, medical/life sciences, social sciences, dissertations, and business. Also indexes tables, charts, images, and other graphics.
- Engineering Village (EV)
Premier index database for engineering literature. Includes Compendex (focus: civil, chemical, and mechanical engineering) and INSPEC (focus: electrical, electronics, computer engineering and physics) as well as the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) index to technical reports. The Thesaurus shows how human factors topics are indexed in an engineering context.
- ProQuest Engineering Enhanced
Incorporating Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA), over 30 indexes and some full-text on all aspects of engineering. Can be searched on simultaneously with PubMed, PsychInfo as well as many other subject indexes and on charts and graphs.
- Ergonomics Abstracts
The only abstracts database focusing ergonomics and related topics. Abstracts are classified according to an unique 12-part classification system
as well as a dictionary of over 300 applications
; this can be searched by clicking on the Thesaurus link. The database can be searched on alongside other EBSCO databases on a wide range of topics.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Major source on the interaction of technology and humans, including not only ACM publications but also the Digital Library of Computing Literature. Includes the Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction (TOCHI) and Proceedings of the ACM Special Interest Group on Computer-Human Interaction (SIGCHI).
- IEEE Xplore (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers / Institution of Electrical Engineers)
Includes proceedings of conferences focusing on the interaction of human factors with specific technologies and industries.
- SPIE Digital Library
Optics-focused collection offering journals and proceedings which address displays, visualizations, and related human factors issues.
Combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. Use the Thesaurus available in the Advanced Search screen to locate precise search terms.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Guide to standardized psychological and educational tests. Includes references to reviews, information about the tests, and how to obtain them. Additional information on psychological tests is available in the Educational and Psychological Tests and Measurements
The premier source for professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Abstracts and some full-text of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Includes some actual instruments.
- PubMed Customized for Tufts
The major interface to the NLM MEDLINE file. Links to other Entrez databases. Although this government website is free, entering it through the Tufts library websites facilitates access to Tufts journal subscriptions. Best source for comprehensive medical conditions, therapies, and tools relating to design issues. More details in our PubMed for Engineers Guide
- Sage Premier
Full-text journals covering both psychology and other social sciences, as well as ergonomics, including publications from the Ergonomics Society.
- AARP Ageline
Sources related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective, including ergonomics and psychology. Subjects are based on the Ageline Thesaurus.
- ACM Interactions
Covers human-computer interaction and interaction design communities.
- Applied Ergonomics
PRINT: Tisch Bound Periodicals TA166 .A66 through 2002
- CHI: Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems
PRINT: Tisch Book Stacks QA76.9.H85 C66a
Sponsored by the ACM SIGCHI, leading international conference on human-computer interaction.
- Cognition, Technology & Work
Official publication of the Ergonomics Society.
- Computer Supported Cooperative Work (CSCW)
Print: Tisch Library Stacks, various call numbers; search the Tufts Catalog for "Support Computer supported cooperative work"
Major journal focusing on the technical, theoretical, and social aspects of collaborative computing. Conference proceedings available through the ACM
Journal focusing on the interaction of human cognition, technology, and working conditions.
- Ergonomics in Design
Publication of the Human Factors Society.
- Human Factors
PRINT: Tisch Current Periodicals; Tisch Bound Periodicals T58.A2 H8
Publication of the Human Factors Society.
- Human Factors and Ergonomics in Manufacturing & Service Industries
Tisch Bound Periodicals: TS155.6 .I5935
Focuses on human factors issues in the workplace, including contemporary manufacturing systems, as well as office environments.
- International Journal of Human-Computer Studies
- Journal of Motor Behavior
PRINT: Tisch Current Periodicals; Tisch Bound Periodicals QP303 .J64
Interdisciplinary journal focusing on movement neuroscience.
- Journal of Usability Studies
Publication of the User Experience Professionals Association (UXPA).
- PRESENCE: Teleoperators and Virtual Environments
From MIT Press, first academic journal devoted to issues involving teleoperators and virtual environments.
- Surgical Endoscopy and Other Interventional Techniques
Official Journal of the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) and European Association for Endoscopic Surgery (EAES). Articles and conference proceedings cover the role of human engineering in endoscopic therapies.