Safety Data Sheets
- Safety Data Sheet SearchA safety data sheet, or SDS, is a standardized document that contains occupational safety and health data. This free tool searches SDS by name, manufacturer, and CAS number.
General Encyclopedias
- Chemistry of the ElementsAn account of the chemistry of the elements. Available through Knovel, an extensive searchable online library.
- e-EROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisA database of approximately 70,000 reactions and 5250 of the most frequently consulted reagents and catalysts. Updated annually.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyA wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field
- Ulmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryThe benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life science engineering
Dictionaries and Nomenclature
- Oxford Dictionary of ChemistryAll aspects of chemistry with broad coverage in subject areas as well as biographical entries
- IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) NomenclatureNomenclature of Organic Chemistry. IUPAC Recommendations and Preferred Names 2013
- NCI/CADD Chemical Identifier ResolverResolves or generates SMILES from chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers, InChI/InChIKey and many other chemical structure file formats.
- Wolfram AlphaComputational knowledge engine that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from externally sourced curated data
Handbooks
Electronic Resources
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)Established in 1965, the CSD is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. CSD contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures.
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry IIEmphasis on current trends in biology, materials science, and other areas of contemporary scientific interest
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsComprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research
- NIST Chemistry Web BookData compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program
- Patty's Industrial HygieneUp to date information for the experienced as well as novice industrial hygienist
- Patty's ToxicologyToxicological information on a large number of industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards
- Science of SynthesisOnline synthetic methodology tool
- ThermoDex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data HandbooksWeb-based finding aid that indexes over 200 thermodynamic data collections and handbooks
- WebElements: The Periodic Table on the WebWeb-based periodic table
Spectroscopic Data
Helpful Guide
- Spectra and Spectral DataExtensive reference guide from the University of Texas Libraries covering a wide variety of spectra and spectral data
Electronic Resources
- AIST Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBSCompilation of high-quality databases organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
- NIST Atomic Spectra DatabaseVersion 5.10
- NIST Diatomic Spectral DatabaseNIST Standard Reference Database 114 for microwave spectra of molecules
- Aldrich Library of Infrared SpectraAvailable in print at the library
- Aldrich Library of ¹³C and ¹H FT NMR SpectraAvailable in print at the library
- Sadtler Handbook of Infrared SpectraAvailable in print at the library
