LibGuides: Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD): Background Questions

The Background Question in EBD

Both the first year and second year's part of the presentation may be defined as addressing the Background Question in EBD.

The Background Question in EBD:

Seeks established general knowledge that you yourself don’t know but the profession as a whole does
Is usually about a single concept
Who, what, when, where, why, and how questions
Findings these answers lays the groundwork for foreground questions
Usually answered with textbooks

If a topic is totally new to you, start with MedlinePlus for plain language.

After that, search a platform (a resource that allows you to search multiple textbooks simultaneously).

After platforms, try point-of-care tools.

Follow these with the recommended textbooks not contained in a platform. These are listed out individually simply because there is no easy way to search them simultaneously since they are not on a platform but it is still important to know they are available resources.

Finally, Springer Link is a publisher with a collection of dentistry books. Some of these are textbook-like and some of them are very focused on a narrow topic for experts making them more difficult to understand. Use your best judgment when selecting from a Springer Link book. Go here last for your EBD Background Question.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus
Use the search box to search pre-vetted trustworthy websites for plain language information.

STATRef
Searchable database of drug compendia, and medical and dental textbooks.

Platforms - Collections of Textbooks

We recommend using platforms first. Platforms are collections of textbooks that may be searched simultaneously. This function makes them time-saving.

AccessMedicine
An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools such as Diagnosaurus ®, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

Point-of-Care Tools

DynaMed
DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool for physicians and other medical professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. It contains overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to insure currency. Integrated Micromedex content provides resources to help better inform prescription decisions, medication management strategies and treatment decisions as a result of lab tests in the course of patient care.
Lexi-Comp online for Dentistry
Its drug monographs can be searched by keyword. Pills and other pharmaceuticals can be identified by shape, color and markings. Detailed color photographs, drawings, and radiographs are included. The following works and topics can also be browsed: Dental-Office Medical Emergencies, Natural Therapeutics, Clinicians Endodontic Handbook, Oral Soft- and Hard-Tissue Diseases, Manual of Dental Implants, Manual of Clinical Periodontics, Oral Surgery for the General Dentist, and Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry.

Recommended Textbooks Not Contained in a Platform

These are listed out individually simply because there is no easy way to search them simultaneously since they are not on a platform but it is still important to know they are available resources. Remember to consider the key part of your question and choose a textbook whose overarching topic encompasses that.