Recommended General Article Databases
Article databases include citations to and, in many cases, the complete online text of, articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. Tufts University has access to hundreds of library databases and each has slightly different content and features. The list below has been selected by librarians as the best starting places for research in First Year Writing classes.
But keep in mind, article databases often cite articles that aren't available in full text at Tufts. Click the Find It @ Tufts button to check to see if we have a complete copy of the article from another source. If it looks like we don't have it, contact your librarian for help getting what you need!
If you still are not finding what you need, consult our full list of article databases or Ask Us!
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- Academic OnefileDatabase for locating articles on topics from a wide variety of subject areas. Many articles are in full-text.
- AltPress WatchFull-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society.
- Boston GlobeFull text of the Globe from 1980 offers authoritative coverage of local, national and international news.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteAn index and abstracting resource with considerable full-text. It incorporates the content of CommSearch & Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text database that provides access to materials that voice a different perspective than the mainstream media, including newspapers and journals published by ethnic, minority, and Native American press.
- GenderWatchFull-text database of international sources, including journals, special reports and conference proceedings with a focus on all aspects of gender and sexuality (women, men, LGBT, etc)
- Access World NewsIncludes information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Find It @ Tufts
The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?
The 
button lets you know if the full text of the article is available:
- Online through another library database.
- In print by doing a search in JumboSearch.
- Available via interlibrary loan by making an ILLiad request.