Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Psychology of Music: Getting Started

Accompanies course: MUS 59 crosslisted as PSY 80.

Quick Reference: Terms, Concepts, Issues

Annual Review of Psychology

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines by offering comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists.  Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature,

Search  Annual Reviews of Psychology. 

(A search for the term "MUSIC" produces over 100 results.)

Two Basic Searches

JumboSearch

JumboSearch can be useful when starting to research a topic because it includes everything the library owns (the Library Catalog), AND it includes SOME of the content that the library licenses (such as journal articles, streaming music, e-books, etc.), all from one simple search box.  

More advanced research, delving deep into ALL of the content licensed by the library, requires searching in subject-specific databases — see the Finding Articles tab.

WorldCat

Worldcat searches beyond only what the library owns.   Through the click of a button ["Request Item through Interlibrary Loan"] you can request that a book, video, or other physical resource be sent to you here at Tufts from another library elsewhere.  Very helpful when you are looking for something that Tisch doesn't have!

PsycBOOKS

PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and book chapters in the American Psychological Association's array of quality electronic databases.  While the collection tends to include more established "classics of the field" than cutting edge research, it can be useful in surveying the literature. 

Search  PsycBOOKS.

Inputting the keyword "MUSIC" produces over 590 search results, additional subject headings suggested by the database include:

music perception, aesthetics,‎ pitch (frequency),‎ auditory stimulation‎, auditory perception‎, art‎, childhood development, history.

PubMed

PubMed provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1947. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Search PubMed

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Wes Fiorentino
Wes is on leave for the Fall Semester. For research support or instruction please contact Ari Gofman for Psychology or Elliot Brandow for Child Study & Human Development, Education, Sociology, and Anthropology.