Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Psychology of Music: Finding Articles

Accompanies course: MUS 59 crosslisted as PSY 80.

In Psychology

PsycINFO

The major index to all branches of psychology and its related disciplines.  Indexed from 1967 using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

HINT:   Search "Music" AND another subject term/phrase, such as:

Music AND Auditory Perception
Music AND Creativity
Music AND Musical Ability
Music AND Music Education
Music AND Pitch
Music AND Rhythm

Other Resources -- Multidisciplinary

 Searching multidisciplinary databases can also provide valuable results for interdisciplinary topics.

Academic Search Premier    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

JSTOR   JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Scopus     An index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics.

Web of Science    This database is offered by the Institute for Scientific Information and provides access to the ISI citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

In Music

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Coverage from 1967 to the present, attempting to be comprehensive of all music scholarship (including all types of documents: journals, dissertations, books, conference proceedings, etc.) from all over the world.

HINT:  Take advantage of the highly detailed subject descriptions.  Search broad general subject keywords of pshychological concepts such as:

Psychology
Aesthetics
Emotions
Cognition
Communication

to survey a wide range of issues and subtopics, from which you can investigate a more narrow theme for your research.