LibGuides: ANTH 0128: Mesoamerican Archaeology: Finding Articles

Suggested Databases and Online Resources

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It covers over 2,500 journals and begins coverage in the late 19th century.
AnthroSource
A service developed by the American Anthropological Association containing a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.
eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Bibliografía Mesoamericana
"The Bibliografía Mesoamericana, jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI), provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines."

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Social Science Premium Collection
The ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection combines discipline specific collections in politics and sociology with resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. This Collection enriches the discipline by providing more coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
Web of Science
Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.

Anthropology (General)
by Cece Lasley Last Updated Jan 27, 2025 66 views this year

eHRAF Search Examples & Methodology
This resource from eHRAF offers some suggestions on how to search using the interface.
eHRAF Video Tutorials
These video tutorials from eHRAF can be very helpful to new users and those looking to level up their search skills alike.