Guide under construction
Hello! Welcome to the general research guide for Anthropology! Please pardon our digital dust as this guide undergoes some updates.
If you have questions that this guide does not currently answer, please feel free to reach out to Cece using the contact box in the right column of this page. For those of you using assistive technology, the gif below is purely decorative.
How to use this guide
Welcome to the general research guide for Anthropology! Within the different tabs of this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research and tips for improving your research skills. If you are looking for resources for a particular sub-field of Anthropology, please see the boxes on the different resource pages. The News Sources and Data tabs will open in new tabs, as they link to other Tisch Library research guides with resources to help you with your research.
If you have any questions about any part of the research process, you can always reach out to Cece, your subject librarian via the box in the right column of each page.
If you have a more urgent question that won't wait for an email response, please visit the AskUs page on the Tisch website to chat with a librarian.
Reference Sources (background information)
What are reference sources?
A reference source is a scholarly discussion that summarizes and synthesizes topics, concepts, or the scholarly conversation about a particular topic/concept. Typically, a reference source does not contain original research. These sources provide important background and contextual information on your subject. Reference sources include bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, brainstorm types of data that might support your thesis, and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.
Select Reference Resources:
- Credo ReferenceOnline reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form.
- Gale eBooksGale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks Online is a collection of the best Handbooks across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
- Oxford ReferenceProvides web access to more than 100 major Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in the humanities, social sciences, foreign languages, science, technology and medicine, the performing arts, and religion.
