LibGuides: HIST 0065: Great Britain and the British Empire: Primary Sources

British Historical Documents & More

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
c. 1850-1950 CE | Government records, diaries, correspondence
British Cabinet Papers, 1916-1986
1916-1986 CE | British government documents
British History Online
1300-1800 CE | contains both primary and secondary sources
British Politics and Society
1800-1900 CE | Government documents, diaries, pamphlets, personal papers, and autobiographies | Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
The Grand Tour
1550-1850 CE | Correspondence, diaries, travel writing, guidebooks, maps, architectural drawings, and account books | British travel to the continent for pleasure, business, and diplomacy

Empire Online
1482-2003 CE | Diaries, correspondence, government papers, travel writing, and maps.
London Low Life
1650-1940 CE | Broadsides, cartoons, pamphlets, maps, periodicals, posters, manuscripts, and books
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
1957-1963 CE | Official records from Harold Macmillan's tenure as British Prime minister.
Mass Observation Online
1937-1960 CE | Diaries, field reports, and surveys from Mass Observation Organization.
Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009
1981-2009 CE | Documents from the University of Sussex revival of the Mass Observation Organization.
Poverty, Philanthropy, and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain
1678-1930 CE | Correspondence, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, government records.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
1695-2022 CE | Bills, acts, and papers from U.K. Parliament
Victorian Popular Culture
1584-1978 CE | Diaries, correspondence, films, guidebooks, sheet music, playbills, photographs, periodicals, and ephemera.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
1603-1804 CE | Newspapers and pamphlets
British Periodicals
1681-1939 CE | Periodicals
Early English Books Online
1473-1700 CE | Contains nearly all material published in Great Britain during the time period covered.
The Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2014
1843-2014 CE | News and analysis
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
c. 1700-1799 CE | Books, pamphlets, and broadsides
Financial Times Historical Archive (London)
1888-2021 CE | Financial News
London Gazette
1665 CE-present | Public notices and statutes
Nineteenth Century British Newspapers
1716-1913 CE | Collection of newspapers from the British Library
Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets
c.1800-1899 CE | Pamphlets
Times Digital Archive
1785-2010 CE | Newspapers | The Times of London Archive

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
1839-1969 CE | British Foreign and Colonial Offices files
Confidential Print Africa, 1834-1966
1834-1966 CE | British Foreign and Colonial Offices files

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
1919-1980 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
1919-1952 CE | British Foreign Office files.
Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980
1963-1980 CE | British Foreign Office files.