Citing Sources in Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style is the best resource to find information about this mode of citation, which is most commonly used in history. The authoritative style guide is available in print in the library as well as online from a number of reliable sources.
The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: Research Hub (Room 224): Z253 .U69 2017The print version of the Chicago Manual of style is the most authoritative source for this mode of citation.
- Citing Sources: Chicago StyleGo to the Tisch Library research guide to Chicago Style for more comprehensive information about it.
- Chicago Style Quick GuideThe sample citations on this page illustrate the notes and bibliography system. Sample notes show full citations followed by shortened citations for the same sources. Sample bibliography entries follow the notes.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of StylePurdue's Online Writing Lab has created an easy to use version of the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS). The material in this resource focuses primarily on one of the two CMS documentation styles: the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), which is used by those in literature, history, and the arts.
Introduction to Zotero
If you prefer to use a different citation manager, you might want to try Zotero, which is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:
- import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
- create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
- format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
- serve as your own searchable reference database
- organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
- capture snapshots of websites
- attach notes to references, create standalone notes
- sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work
Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.
See the complete guide for more detailed information. See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.