LibGuides: Financial and Market Data Sources: Subscription Resources

Databases

Factiva
Click on "Companies/Markets" tab to get company profiles, financials and stock prices, indices and other market data.
D&B Hoovers
In-depth information on public & private companies and industries in the U.S. and globally. Includes investment bank analyst reports, company financials and ratios. 10 years of public company financials available that can be downloaded to Excel.

D&B Hoovers User Guide
Guidance on how to retrieve a list of companies or organizations filtered by industry, location, market size, etc. and how to locate company financials and analyst reports.
D&B Hoovers - How to Edit List Results & Download to Excel
Locating Industry Ratios in D&B Hoovers

EMIS
EMIS has public & private company and industry information and a diverse array of market research reports for emerging markets around the world. Includes ability to screen for list of competitors, M&A & Private Equity deal information, credit analytics, country economic benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons.
Nexis Uni
Once in database, click on “Business” then “Company Dossier” to get a company overview with financials and ratios. Works best in the Edge internet browser. Click on “Create Company List” to screen for a list of companies. Be sure to “Accept Pop-ups” when message appears.

Pitchbook
Pitchbook provides data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. Also detailed private and public company financials.
Bloomberg Terminals
Bloomberg is available in Ginn Library. Bloomberg terminals are open to all members of the Tufts community. Users must log onto the machine with their Tufts username and password. Bloomberg use is for non-commercial, academic research only. The Bloomberg database provides current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Economic Times Series

Historical Statistics of the US Online.
more...less...
Fully searchable and downloadable compendium of statistics that includes over 37,000 data series on various topics. Allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System
You can create and download census data from all censuses. Also available is the 1990 census, which is no longer available at American Factfinder. Labor force, income and business data available.
more...less...
Type: Longitudinal, Cross-Sectional
Region: U.S
Unit Level: Tract, County, State, Region
FRASER -- Economic Library & Archives
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is designed to preserve and provide access to economic and banking data and policy documents. See blue i for list of specific resources.
more...less...
To this end, various types of documents have been digitized, including: Government data publications, Statistical releases, Congressional hearings, Reports by various organizations, Books, Publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Publications of the Federal Reserve Banks Statements, and speeches of Fed policymakers, Archival materials of economic policymakers.
International Monetary Fund. International Financial Statistics (Query Builder)
Annual entries begin in 1945; quarterly and monthly entries begin in 1945. Balance of payments, interest and exchange rates, trade and banking statistics; tables for every country.
more...less...
Type: Time Series
Unit Level: Country, Region
U.S. Census Bureau. Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts.
The decennial census is the core purpose of the Census Bureau and determines the number of seats in the US House of Representatives.
more...less...
Covers 1790-2000, with special non-population census, including manufacturing, special historical and modern reports and publications in .pdf and .zip formats you can download. You cannot search the pdfs.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Gold standard of curation, cleaning, and description of datasets. Includes government data as well as researcher-created data, including election data, opinion polls, more.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
The world’s longest running household panel survey, from 1968-present. Nationally representative US Sample