Architecture: Home

Stay Engaged

A few titles at Tisch (Recommend a purchase)

• African American architects : embracing culture and building urban communities
• Diversity among Architects: from Margin to Center
• Race and Modern Architecture: A Critical History from the Enlightenment to the Present
• Structural inequality: black architects in the United States
• Minoru Yamasaki: humanist architecture for a modernist world
• Negro building: Black Americans in the world of fairs and museums

A Few Essays:

• America's Cities Were Designed to Opress
• Architecture, Race, Academe: The Black Architect's Journey," Ted Landsmark & Robert R. Taylor (Video)
• Decentering Whiteness in Design History
• Now What?! Advocacy, Activism & Alliances in American Architecture since 1968

Organizations:

• BlackSpace
• Designing Justice
• Mayors’ institute on City Design: Statement on Undesigning Racism
• National Organization of Minority Architects
• African American Design Nexus .
• Beyond the Built Environment
• Black, Indigenous and POC Owned Design Studios
• The Directory of African American Architects
• NOMA: National Organization of Minority Architects
• Institute for Human Centered Design
• The Center for Universal Design

Practitioners and scholars

• 200+ Black Creators
• Adrienne Brown
• Tamika Butler
• Irene C. Cheng
• Colloqate Design
• Milton S. F. Curry
• Charles Davis II
• Veronica O. Davis
• Kimberly Driggins
• Justin Garrett Moore
• De Nichols
• Mabel O. Wilson

Web Sites

Search, also, architects' web sites for plans, drawings, etc.

• ArchDaily
• Archipedia (Society of Architectural Historians)
• archINFORM .
• Architectural Record .
• Architecture and Design Collection Highlights (The Getty Research Institute)
• ArchNet .
• American Institute of Architects: Practicing Architecture
• American Institute of Architects: Blueprint for America Initiatives
• Atlas of Urban Expansion
• Building Types Study
• Cities and Buildings Database .
• CyArk 
• Design Boom .
• Global Cities & Buildings Database
• Great Buildings Collection
• Heritage Documentation Programs
• Historic American Buildings Survey
• Planning Maps of Midwestern Cities in the 1920s and 1930s
• Society of Architectural Historians: Digital Resources
• Structurae: international database and gallery of structures
• Urban Land Institute

Overviews | Definitions | Concepts:

• The Architecture Reader: Essential Writings from Vitruvius to the Present
• Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world   
• International dictionary of architects and architecture
• Oxford Art Online
• The Oxford Companion to Architecture
• Dictionary of Architecture & Construction
• Time-saver Standards

• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference

    JumboSearch for Books     

1. A Few sample subject browsing:

• Architecture and race
• Disabilities and architect*
• Feminism and architecture United States.
• Race relations and city planning
• "Architecture -- Designs and Plans" (limited to e-titles）
• "Architecture -- Designs and Plans"
• "Architectural drawings" 

More search patterns you can try out

• Issues/themes, the building, its type, its locale, the city or the country, its period or style; its client/patron, its materials, its setting/site, the architect and his/her theory and ideals, etc.

Note: WorldWide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and  sign up for a BPL eCard , Tufts students and faculty eligible)

"Digital books" on Internet Archive