|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Arts of Asia! Chao Chen, your research librarian |
 |
Books and Images
1. Finding Books in Library Catalogs: 
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
| Title: | Future present: contemporary Korean art |
| Author(s): | St. Louis, Andy, Pak, Chu-wŏn, Jeon, Hyo Gyoung, |
| Subjects: | Art -- Korea (South) |
| Art, Korean -- 21st Century |
2. Some Reference and Introductory Titles at Tisch
- The Arts of China / Michael Sullivan
- Modern Chinese Artists: a Biographical Dictionary / Michael Sullivan.
- The Art and Architecture of India / Benjamin Rowland
- History of Japanese Art. / Penelope Mason; revised by Donald Dinwiddie.
- Indian Art. / Partha Mitter.
- Arts of Korea
- The arts of Korea: an illustrated history
- Korean art tradition: a historical survey
****End as Beginning: Chinese Art and Dynastic Time, the 68th A. W. Mellon Lecture by Prof. Wu Hung, University of Chicago (Video/Audio), 2019.
3. Images
- ARTstor (over a million high quality images)
- Asia Art Archive (亚洲艺术文献库)
- Digital Scrolling Paintings Project/Center for the Art of East Asia The University of Chicago
- Asian Historical Architecture
- Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art
- James Cahill's Web site (Chinese Paintings)
- Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA)
- The National Archives of Japan
- Ukiyo-e Japanese Woodblock search
- The Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts
- Cultural Properties Designated by Japan（国指定文化財データベース）
- Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (JAANUS)
- Tisch Library Special Collections
Bibliographies and Journal Articles
1. Bibliographies and Review of Books
- East Asia, Central and North Asia, South & Southeast Asia, West Asia (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)
- Oxford Art Online
- Art History (Annotated Bibliographies)
Note: check out, also, the bibliographies of books and articles in your readings. And, the following Subject Databases of journal articles for review of books as well.
2. Journal and Newspaper Articles
A. Scholars, Artists, and all in conversations
B. All-Subject Databases
C. Art and Art History Databases
D. Related Subjects Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- America: History & Life
- Art & Architecture Source
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
- MLA International Bibliography (Literature, folklore and related studies)
- Women's Studies International
E. Newspaper Articles
- Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
- Factiva (more international coverage)
**Search by the title of the article in JumboSearch when the full text is not readily available in the two Art History databases.
3. A Few Notable Journals
- Artibus Asiae
- Ars Orientalis
- Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
- Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
- The Journal of Japanese Studies
- Mechademia
- Monumenta Nipponica
- Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique
- The China Quarterly
- China Review International
- Modern China
- Modern Chinese Literature and Culture
