LibGuides: Legal Research: Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Nutshell Series

This popular series is comprised of short, concise, and easy-to-understand treatises on a myriad legal topics. Available in print, they can be located by searching the library's catalog. You can find most of these in one catalog search by doing a search for the "Nutshell Series."

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Law
Oxford UP
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
Terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law.
Black's Law Dictionary

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online is a collection of the best Handbooks across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Available subjects include Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.

Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law
Contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Academic
Provides access to e-book content from leading university presses in the fields of law plus other fields.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Subject encyclopedias.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Comprehensive analytical resource covering all major topics in public international law. Articles are peer reviewed and have linked references.