German Literary and Cultural Studies: Home

Overviews

• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference
• Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (bio-bibliography of contemporary German literature)

---

(JumboSearch for) Books 

Note: Worldwide Libraries  (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and  sign up for a BPL eCard , Tufts students and faculty eligible)

**"Digital books" on Internet Archive

Streaming Audios & Videos

• Music Streaming Audio and Video
• BroadwayHD
• Digital Theatre Plus (British theatre productions)<
• Films from Kanopy
• Filmmakers Library Online (Award-winning documentaries)
• PBS Video Collection

---

Digital Images

• ARTStor (2.5+ million high-quality images in dozens of disciplines, all rights-cleared for education and research.)
• Library of Congress
• New York Public Library
• Digital Public Library of America

Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

A list of German Studies journals

• • Die Besten: Klagenfurter Texte
  • Beiträge zur Geschichte der deutschen Sprache und Literatur
  • Dimension
  • Dimension2: Contemporary German-language literature
  • Études Germaniques.
  • German Life and Letters
  • German Studies Review
  • The German Quarterly
  • Germanic Notes
  • The Germanic Review
  • Germanisch-Romanische Monatsschrift  
  • Literaturwissenschaftliches Jahrbuch
  • Marburger Jahrbuch Fur Kunstwissenschaft
  • Neue Deutsche Literatur
  • New German Critique
  • Poetica
  • Seminar: A Journal of Germanic Studies
  • Slavic and East European Journal
  • Zeitschrift Für Kunstgeschichte

 

Databases for Articles:

1. All Subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

 

2. Subject-specific Databases:

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• Art and Architecture Source
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World Culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA  (Literature, Folklore and related fields) International Bibliography)
• Music Index Online
• Slavic and East European Studies
• Women's Studies International

**Performing Arts Periodicals Database (not in the Ebsco family)

 

Newspapers

• Access World News (more U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international news)
• More