American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) Reading List
This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
From the ACVECC Reading List 2021:
"The following list of references contain the material that residents/ fellows are expected to learn with retention and comprehension during their training. To facilitate this, a recent edition of appropriate resources from each section must be provided on site at each Residency Training Facility. Computer access to the common veterinary and human medical databases must also be available on site at each Residency Training Facility.
"Large Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from the calendar year 2016-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Large Animal Additional article list.
"Small Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2021 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and book titles published during or before 2020, and the Small Animal Additional article list.
"Both Large Animal (LA)and Small Animal (SA) candidates sitting the General MCQ examination in September 2020 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2018-2020, and the journal articles that appear in both the Small Animal and Large Animal additional article lists.
"Please note that expected knowledge is duplicated in many of these references: it is not necessary or expected that residents will be familiar with every text listed. However, several suitable texts are listed to ensure that residents have access to all pertinent information. For each knowledge category in the Required Reading List, at least one edition of a textbook that covers the appropriate species of interest and is published within the last 10 years should be available for study and reference.
"The [Supplemental Reading List contains] reading materials that can also be reviewed in these topic areas for the species of interest."
Source: ACVECC Knowledge List 2020, Recommendation Reading Lists, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care
"Articles germane to the field of veterinary emergency and critical care for the appropriate species should be reviewed from the following journals:"
Required
- Equine Veterinary Journal ONLINE(LA candidates)
- Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice ONLINE(LA Candidates)
Supplemental
Updated 4/15/2020
LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Clinical Pathology | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Hematology and Transfusion Medicine | Imaging | Infectious Diseases | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Nutrition | Oncology | Ophthalmology | Pediatrics | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology
Anesthesia
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by Call Number: SF914 .M953h 2013 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323080699Publication Date: 20135th edition
LA/SA
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by Call Number: SF 914 L82 2015 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9781118526231Publication Date: 20155th Edition
LA/SA
Cardiovascular Disease in Small Animal Medicine by Call Number: SF 992 C37 C37356 2007ISBN: 9781840761535Publication Date: 2011SA
Cardiology of the Horse by Call Number: SF959.C376 2010ISBN: 9780702028175Publication Date: 20112nd revised edition
LA
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by Call Number: SF 992 C37 M294 2016 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323188029Publication Date: 20165th Edition
SA
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology by Call Number: SF 769 D911v 2011 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780813820149Publication Date: 20115th edition.
LA/SA
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF772.6 S761 2008ISBN: 9780813800769Publication Date: 20082nd edition.
LA/SA
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 991 S635 2012ISBN: 9781437706574Publication Date: 20125th edition
SA
Marino's the ICU Book by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781451121186Publication Date: 20144th edition
Human
Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323446761Publication Date: 20195th Edition
Human
Textbook of Critical Care by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323376389Publication Date: 20177th Edition
Human
The Equine Hospital Manual by Call Number: SF951 .E554 2008ISBN: 9781405130165Publication Date: 2008LA
Equine Emergencies: Treatment and Procedures by Call Number: SF951 O77 2014ISBN: 9781455708925Publication Date: 20144th edition
LA
Equine Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by Call Number: SF951 .S73 2015ISBN: 9781840761948Publication Date: 2015LA
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 778 A38 2012ISBN: 9780813813370Publication Date: 2012SA
Textbook of Small Animal Emergency Medicine by Call Number: SF778 T49 2018ISBN: 9781119028932Publication Date: 20181st Edition, SA
Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Procedures by Call Number: SF 778 H33 2012ISBN: 9780470958551Publication Date: 2012SA
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by Call Number: SF 778 M294 2012ISBN: 9780813824734Publication Date: 20122nd edition
SA
Monitoring and intervention for the critically ill small animal : the rule of 20 by Call Number: SF778 .M65 2017 (RESERVES STACKS)ISBN: 9781118900833Publication Date: 2017SA
Veterinary emergency and critical care manual by ISBN: 9789781896989Publication Date: 2018Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loan
2nd edition
SA
Small Animal Critical Care Medicine by Call Number: SF 778 S55 2015ISBN: 9781455703067Publication Date: 20152nd edition
SA
Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Physiology: a problem-based approach by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323355155Publication Date: 20165th Edition
Human
Clinical Physiology of Acid-Base and Electrolyte Disorders by Call Number: WD 220 R795c 2001 (available at Hirsh Health Sciences Library)ISBN: 9780071346825Publication Date: 20015th Edition
Human
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 991 D543f 2012ISBN: 9781437706543Publication Date: 20114th edition
SA
Hematology and Transfusion Medicine
Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking by Call Number: SF 919.5 B55 M2 2016ISBN: 9781118933022Publication Date: 2016LA/SA
Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323482479Publication Date: 20187th Edition
LA/SA
Focused Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner by Call Number: SF 757.8 F63 2014ISBN: 9781118369593Publication Date: 2014SA
Equine Infectious Diseases by Call Number: SF 951 E682 2014ISBN: 9781455708918Publication Date: 20142nd edition
LA
Infectious Diseases of the Horse: Diagnosis, Pathology, Management, and Public Health by Call Number: SF 951 V45 2013ISBN: 9781840761658Publication Date: 2013LA
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by Call Number: SF991 .I54 2012ISBN: 9781416061304Publication Date: 20124th edition.
SA
Equine Internal Medicine by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF951 .E638 2018ISBN: 9780323443296Publication Date: 20184th Edition
LA
Large Animal Internal Medicine by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF745 .L322 2020 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323554459Publication Date: 2020LA
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine (7) by Call Number: Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loanISBN: 9781455745555Publication Date: 20157th edition.
LA
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine Expert Consult by Call Number: SF991 .T355 2017 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323312110Publication Date: 20168th Edition, 2 Volumes
SA
Clinical Canine and Feline Respiratory Medicine by Call Number: SF992.R47 .J64 2020ISBN: 9781119482284Publication Date: 2020SA
Textbook of Respiratory Disease in Dogs and Cats by Call Number: SF 992 R47 K53t 2004ISBN: 0721687067Publication Date: 2003SA
Canine and Feline Gastroenterology by Call Number: SF 851 C36w 2013ISBN: 9781416036616Publication Date: 2012SA
Canine and Feline Endocrinology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781455744565Publication Date: 20154th edition.
SA
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by Call Number: Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loanISBN: 9780071771511Publication Date: 20184th edition
Human
Mechanical Ventilation by Call Number: Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loanISBN: 9781416031413Publication Date: 20082nd edition
Human
Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation by Call Number: Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loanISBN: 9780323551274Publication Date: 20207th edition
Human
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781299834545Publication Date: 20123rd edition
Human
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781260122404Publication Date: 2019
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323597128Publication Date: 202114th Edition
HUMAN
Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology by Call Number: SF768 .T355 2020 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9781437723618Publication Date: 20205th edition.
LA/SA
Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology by Call Number: SF 895 D278v 2015ISBN: 9781455748563Publication Date: 20144th edition
LA/SA
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 895 O48h 2011ISBN: 9781437706512Publication Date: 2011LA/SA
Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology by Call Number: SF 895 P895 2016ISBN: 9781119062042Publication Date: 2016Third Edition
SA
Small Animal Neurological Emergencies by Call Number: SF 895 P53 2012ISBN: 9781840761528Publication Date: 2012SA
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Neurology by Call Number: SF 895 T8 B73 2012ISBN: 9781905319343Publication Date: 20124th edition.
SA
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals EBOOK by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781444336474Publication Date: 2015SA
Withrow and MacEwen's Small Animal Clinical Oncology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781437723625Publication Date: 20206th edition.
SA
Essentials of Veterinary Ophthalmology by Call Number: SF 891 G314e 2014ISBN: 9781118910337Publication Date: 20143rd edition.
LA/SA
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by Call Number: SF891 .S631f 2018 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323443371Publication Date: 20186th Edition
LA/SA
Equine Ophthalmology by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT:SF959.E93 G55 2017ISBN: 9781119047742Publication Date: 20173rd Edition
LA
Small Animal Pediatrics: The First 12 Months of Life by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 991 S6357 2011ISBN: 9781416048893Publication Date: 20111st Edition
SA
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Reproduction and Neonatology by Call Number: SF887 .B79 2010ISBN: 9781905319190Publication Date: 20102nd edition
SA
Canine Reproduction and Neonatology by Call Number: SF427.2 G74 2015ISBN: 9781591610410Publication Date: 2015SA
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Call Number: SF915 .V587 2018 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9781118855775Publication Date: 201810th Edition
LA/SA
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Call Number: SF 915 B725s 2012 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780721605555Publication Date: 20122nd Edition
SA
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology by Call Number: SF 917 S635 2008ISBN: 9780702028588Publication Date: 20082nd edition
SA
Equine Surgery by Call Number: SF951 .E64a 2019ISBN: 9780323484206Publication Date: 20195th Edition
LA
Small Animal Surgery by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF911 .F67 2019ISBN: 9780323443449Publication Date: 20195th Edition
SA
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by Call Number: SF911 .V48 2018 (volumes 1 and 2) (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323320658Publication Date: 20182nd Edition
SA
Veterinary Toxicology by Call Number: SF757.5 .V5864 2018ISBN: 9780128114100Publication Date: 20183rd Edition
LA/SA
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology by Call Number: SF 757.5 C6417 2004ISBN: 032301125XPublication Date: 2004LA/SA
Small Animal Toxicology by Call Number: SF 757.5 P485s 2013ISBN: 9781455707171Publication Date: 20133rd edition.
SA
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion by Call Number: SF 757.5 B63 2016ISBN: 9781119036579Publication Date: 20162nd Edition
SA
This section updated 9/30/2021
"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Multiple articles have been removed from this list compared to the 2014 version. This is not because the committee no longer feels these are important, but rather because the recently published second edition of Silverstein DC & Hopper K, Small Animal Critical Care Medicine 2015 has incorporated many of these articles into its citations.
"Please also be aware that while the majority of the questions on the examination will be based on literature from the additional article list and the recommended reading list some questions may reference other appropriate sources pertinent to our specialty."
- Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes
- Anesthesia/Analgesia
- Cardiovascular
- Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine
- Endocrine
- Environmental/Toxic
- Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas
- Hepatobiliary
- Immunology/Hemolymphatic
- Integument
- Musculoskeletal
- Neurology/Special Senses
- Nutrition
- Renal/Urinary
- Reproductive
- Respiratory
- Sepsis/SIRS/MODS
- Shock/Ischemia/CPCR
- Trauma
1. Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes
- Nielsen, Niklas. Targeted Temperature Management at 33°C versus 36°C after Cardiac ArrestN Engl J Med 2013; 369:2197-2206
December 5, 2013
"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10-12 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Large animal candidates should appreciate that the majority of these articles are non-species specific and shared with small animal candidates. This means that they can be used for questions on the general multiple-choice exam."
- Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes
- Anesthesia/Analgesia
- Cardiovascular
- Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine
- Endocrine
- Environmental/Toxic
- Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas
- Hepatobiliary
- Immunology/Hemolymphatic
- Integument
- Musculoskeletal
- Neurology/Special Senses
- Nutrition
- Renal/Urinary
- Reproductive
- Respiratory
- Sepsis/SIRS/MODS
- Shock/Ischemia/CPCR
Acid-Base/Fluids/Electrolytes
- None
Anesthesia/Analgesia
- None
Cardiovascular
- None
- PROVETS issue of J Vet Emerg Crit Care. 2014; 24(1): 1-130.This has been included to make candidates completely aware that this information is testable despite a small animal focus of some articles.
Endocrine
- None
Environmental/Toxic
- None
Hepatobiliary
- None
Musculoskeletal
- None
Nutrition
- None
Reproductive
- None
- Nielsen, Niklas. Targeted Temperature Management at 33°C versus 36°C after Cardiac ArrestN Engl J Med 2013; 369:2197-2206
December 5, 2013