ABVP - Shelter Medicine
This is only a convenience copy of the ABVP reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries. It does not replace the official ABVP reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ABVP reading list.
Animal Cruelty
Veterinary Forensics: Animal Cruelty Investigation by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780470961629Publication Date: 20122nd edition.
Animal Abuse and Unlawful Killing: Forensic Veterinary Pathology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780702028786Publication Date: 20081st edition.
Recognizing & reporting animal abuse : a veterinarian's guide by Call Number: HV 4764 R311 1997Publication Date: 1998- Animal Hoarding: Structuring Interdisciplinary Responses to Help People by Publication Date: 2006Hoarding of Animals Research Consortium (HARC).
Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loan - Forensic Investigation of Animal Cruelty by Call Number: SF 769.47 S616f 2006ISBN: 9780974840062Publication Date: 20061st Edition
Behavior & Welfare
Mental Health and Well-Being in Animals by ISBN: 9780813804897Publication Date: 2005Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loan
Low Stress Handling, Restraint and Behavior Modification of Dogs and Cats by Call Number: SF 433 Y56L 2009ISBN: 9780964151840Publication Date: 2009
Choose ONE of the following:
Canine and Feline Behavior Therapy by ISBN: 9780683039122Publication Date: 20062nd edition.
Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loan
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Behavioural Medicine by Call Number: SF 433 B73 2009ISBN: 9781905319152Publication Date: 20102nd edition.
British Small Animal Veterinary Association (BSAVA).
Domestic Animal Behavior for Veterinarians and Animal Scientists by Call Number: SF756.7 .H839d 2018ISBN: 9781119232766Publication Date: 20186th Edition
(small animal sections)
Behavior Problems of the Dog and Cat by Call Number: SF 433 L263 2013ISBN: 9780702043352Publication Date: 20123rd edition.
Manual of Clinical Behavioral Medicine for Dogs and Cats by Call Number: SF 433 O96c 2013ISBN: 9780323240659Publication Date: 2013
Euthanasia
- Guidelines for Euthanasia of Nondomestic Animals by Call Number: SF 756.394 A61 2006Publication Date: 2006
Veterinary Euthanasia Techniques: A Practical Guide by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780470959183Publication Date: 20121st edition.- Euthanasia Reference Manual by ISBN: 9781934785041Publication Date: 2013Not in library collection. Can be requested through interlibrary loan
Epidemiology & Statistics
Statistics for Veterinary and Animal Science by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780470670750Publication Date: 20133rd edition.
Either, or:
Veterinary Clinical Epidemiology by Call Number: SF 780.9 S657v 2006 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780849315664Publication Date: 20063rd edition.
Veterinary Epidemiology by Call Number: SF780.9 .T873v 2018ISBN: 9781118280263Publication Date: 20184th Edition
General Medicine & Surgery - Including Population Medicine
Consultations in Feline Internal Medicine by Call Number: SF 985 C758 2006ISBN: 9780721604237Publication Date: 20055th edition.
Consultations in Feline Internal Medicine by Call Number: SF 985 C758 2010ISBN: 9781416056416Publication Date: 20096th edition.
Consultations in Feline Internal Medicine by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323226523Publication Date: 20157th Edition
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Call Number: SF 915 B725s 2012 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780721605555Publication Date: 20122nd Edition
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780323597128Publication Date: 202114th Edition
Kirk's Current Therapy XIII: Small Animal Practice by Call Number: SF745 .C81 2000ISBN: 9780721655239Publication Date: 199913th edition.
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIV by Call Number: SF 607 CU823 2008ISBN: 9780721694979Publication Date: 2008
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XV by Call Number: SF 607 .CU 823 2014 (RESERVE and BOOK STACKS)ISBN: 9781437726893Publication Date: 2013v.15
The Cat: Clinical Medicine and Management by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 985 C294 2012ISBN: 9781437706604Publication Date: 2011
Shelter Medicine for Veterinarians and Staff by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 745 S545 2013ISBN: 9780813819938Publication Date: 20132nd edition.
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by Call Number: SF 914 M953h 2013 (RESERVE STACKS)ISBN: 9780323080699Publication Date: 20135th edition
LA/SA
Small Animal Pediatrics by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 991 S6357 2011ISBN: 9781416048893Publication Date: 2011
Herd Health: Food Animal Production Medicine by Call Number: SF 745 H541 2001ISBN: 9780721676944Publication Date: 20013rd edition.
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT : SF 991 S635 2012ISBN: 9781437706574Publication Date: 20125th edition
Either, Or
Equivalent also acceptable.
Saunders Manual of Small Animal Practice by Call Number: SF981 .S257 2006ISBN: 9780721604220Publication Date: 20063rd edition.
Handbook of Small Animal Practice by Call Number: SF 991 H236 2008ISBN: 9781416039495Publication Date: 20085th edition
Grant Writing
(Either/Or)
Grant Writing Handbook by ISBN: 9780764559129Publication Date: 2004Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan
Infectious Disease and Sanitation
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases and Parasitology by ISBN: 9780813820125Publication Date: 20122nd Edition (2012) not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
Webster has 1st edition (2006)
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by Call Number: SF 991 G743i 2012ISBN: 9781416061304Publication Date: 20124th edition.
Infectious Disease Management in Animal Shelters by Call Number: SF 781 I4175 2009ISBN: 9780813813790Publication Date: 20091st edition.
Disinfection, Sterilization, and Preservation by ISBN: 9780683307405Publication Date: 20015th Edition (2001) not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
4th edition (1991) can be requested from HirshMaddie's® Infection Control Manual for Animal Shelters by
Call Number: SF 757 M33 2008ISBN: 9780974552576Publication Date: 2008
Either, Or
Handbook of Zoonoses: Identification and Prevention by ISBN: 9780323044783Publication Date: 2007Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
Zoonoses by ISBN: 9780813825427Publication Date: 20001st edition.
Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
Rabbits & Small Mammal Care
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery by Call Number: EBOOK and PRINT: SF 997.5 F47 F387 2012ISBN: 9781416066217Publication Date: 20123rd edition.- Shelter Medicine for Veterinarians and Staff by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780813819938Publication Date: 20132nd edition.
Relevant chapters.
Shelter Management/Policy Development
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by ISBN: 9781118852941Publication Date: 2016Fourth Edition
Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
Animal Control Management: A New Look at a Public Responsibility by ISBN: 9781557535405Publication Date: 2010Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
The Complete Guide to Nonprofit Management by ISBN: 9780471380627Publication Date: 2000Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
- Operational Guides for Animal SheltersAmerican Humane Association (AHA).
This is only a convenience copy of the ABVP reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries. It does not replace the official ABVP reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ABVP reading list.
- Guidelines for Standards of Care in Animal SheltersThe Association of Shelter Veterinarians (ASV), 2010.
- ASV Veterinary Medical Care Guidelines for Spay-neuter ProgramsJAVMA • Vol 249 • No. 2 • July 15, 2016
- AVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of AnimalsAmerican Veteirnary Medical Association (AVMA).
- Model Dog and Cat Control OrdinanceAmerican Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).
- Animals in Public Settings CompendiumNational Association of State Public Health Veterinarians (NASPHV).
- Animal Rabies CompendiumNational Association of State Public Health Veterinarians (NASPHV).
- Compendium of Veterinary Standard Precautions for Zoonotic Disease Prevention in Veterinary PersonnelNational Association of State Public Health Veterinarians (NASPHV), Veterinary Infection Control Committee.
- 2013 AAFP Feline Vaccination Advisory Panel ReportAmerican Association of Feline Practitioners (AAFP).
- Professional Standards for Dog Trainers by ISBN: 9781889785141Publication Date: 2001Not in Webster Library collection. Can be requested through Interlibrary loan.
This is only a convenience copy of the ABVP reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries. It does not replace the official ABVP reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ABVP reading list.
Required Journals
Relevant articles from the last five (5) years.
- Veterinary TherapeuticsNot in Webster Library collection.
This is only a convenience copy of the ABVP reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries. It does not replace the official ABVP reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ABVP reading list.
From the board:
The following is a list of topics, which will typically be covered on the examination, along with suggested textbooks.The newest editions of these texts are recommended, and other recently published books may also be helpful. Candidates are not expected to purchase or read all of these texts - rather, emphasis should be placed on subject matter where candidates feel deficient.
This resource updated: 3/27/2019
Source reading list reviewed: 2018
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2018