|
Welcome to Research Sources page for Race, Ethiinicty, and Gender on the American Stage! (see also TPS 0113: Jewish American Theatre) Chao Chen, research librarian; Email: chao.chen@tufts.edu; Kaylen Dwyer, Digital Humanities Librarian; Email: kaylen.dwyer@tufts.edu; Kimberly Forero-Arnías, Audio and Video Production Specialist; Email: kimberly.forero@tufts.edu; |
Digital Archives
- Primary Source Sets (Digital Public Library of America)
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- Digital History - Native Voices
- The Indigenous Digital Archive
- Early Encounters in North America
- More Primary Sources: Native Americans
Tip for identifying more archival sources: check out the footnotes and bibliographies in a relevant book, e.g.,
Montgomery, Lindsay M., and Colwell, Chip. Objects of Survivance: A Material History of the American Indian School Experience. 2019.
- Black Studies in Video
- Colored Conventions Project
- The Green Book
- Slavery & Antislavery: A Transnational Archive
- Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture
Tip for further search: historical societies and museums, e.g.,
The Royall House and Slaves Quarters , which have these primary sources: public records, newspaper stories, correspondence and more.
- Arab American Museum
- Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora (Archive Collections)
- Digital History - Asian Voices
- Calisphere （Asian Americans，1780-present).
- Chinese American Experience: 1857-1892
A title of interest: Moon, Krystyn. Yellowface: Creating the Chinese in American Popular Music and Performance, 1850s-1920s. 2005.
Boston Irish Americans' Diaries and Journals
- The Center for Migration Studies of New York ("The archive is an especially rich source for Italian-American studies.")
- Latinx Cultural Archives
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
- Hispanic Digital Collections at the Library of Congress
Books | Journal Arclces | Historic Newspapers
JumboSearch for Books
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on Subject Headings in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
Sample titles at Tufts libraries:
- Early American Theatre from the Revolution to Thomas Jefferson by Prof. Heather Nathans
- Experiments in Democracy: Interracial and Cross-Cultural Exchange in American Theatre, 1912-1945
- A history of the New York stage, from the first performance in 1732 to 1901
- The immigrant scene: ethnic amusements in New York, 1880-1920
- National Abjection: The Asian American Body on Stage
- Negotiating performance: gender, sexuality, and theatricality in Latin/o America
- Performing the Progressive Era: immigration, urban life, and nationalism on stage
- Staging Indigeneity: Salvage Tourism and the Performance of Native American History
- Street scenes: staging the self in immigrant New York, 1880-1924
American Historic Newspapers and Magazines
- Accessible Archives
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
- America's Historical Newspapers
- American Periodicals 1740-1900
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- Newspapers.com
- More
Academic Journal Articles
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- America: History & Life, Film & Television Literature, Historical Abstracts, LGBTQ+ Source, Music Literature,, Women's Studies International
