LibGuides: Anthropology (General): Area Studies

General Area Studies Resources

Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions beyond Europe.

Africa Yearbook
Contemporary politics, foreign affairs, and socio-economics of African countries.
Africa-Wide: NiPAD
more...less...
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
Aluka Digital Library
more...less...
The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
An index of Western-language articles, monographs, and book chapters published since 1971 related to Asian Studies.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.

EcoAmericas
Monthly reports on development and environment issues in Latin America; archives back to 1998.

Index Islamicus
This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
more...less...
A comprehensive source of articles on religious and political aspects of Islam and the Islamic world, including the Oxford Dictionary of Islam, the Oxford History of Islam, and a concordance and two translations of the Qur’an.
MidEastWire.com
Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora, and translated into English. 2005-present.
Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History
more...less...
The Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History brings together more than 120 primary source documents that allow the region's modern history to be told by the people who made it.