Writing Guidelines
- Chicago Guide to Writing about NumbersPrint: Tisch Book Stacks T11 .M485 2004
- Handbook of Writing for the Mathematical SciencesPrint: Tisch Book Stacks QA42 .H54 1998
- AMS Author HandbookFrom the American Mathematical Society.
- ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific InformationPrint: Tisch Book Stacks QD8.5 .A25 2006
Typesetting & Markup Tools
- MathJaxOpen source JavaScript display engine for mathematics.
- MathMLThe W3C's official specification for the markup language used for mathematics.
- Unicode Support for MathematicsStandards and support for mathematical notation in Unicode-compliant typefaces.
- Microsoft Office Equation ToolsRecent versions of Microsoft Office have provided tools for presenting equations in Word and other Office apps. Handbooks about Office in eBook collections as well as on the Microsoft Website provide guidance on these tools.
Reference Management Tools
- Citing SourcesGeneral information on citing sources, including information on key styles in science, engineering, and technology.
- EndNotePowerful, highly customizable bibliographic software for handling large research and writing projects. Provides plug-ins for using with BibTex.
- EndNote Plug-in for MathematicaProcedure for embedding EndNote citations into Wolfram Mathematica documents.
TeX, LaTeX, and BibTeX
LaTeX is an open-license document markup and preparation system that is widely used in mathematics and other scientific publishing and is based on the TeX system. It allows for approporiate typesetting of mathematical notation and often is used in conjunction with BibTeX, a software for formatting reference lists; references tracked in BibTeX can be exchanged with other reference citation manager tools (see below).
- LaTeX CommunityForums and blogs on the use of LaTex.
- Mac TeXFrom the MacTeX Technical Working Group (mTWG), implementation of TeX for the Mac.
- MiKTeXImplementation of TeX/LaTeX and related programs for Windows (all current variants).
- AsymptoteDescriptive vector graphics language for technical drawing. Equations and labels use LaTeX for output to postscript.
- TeXample.netDocumentation for, and examples of, TikZ and PGF, for programming graphics.
- TeX - LaTeX Stack ExchangeQuestion and Answer site for users of TeX, LaTeX, ConTeXt, and similar typesetting systems.
- TeX Editors ComparisionFrom Wikipedia.
- TeX Sources and UtilitiesFrom University of Pennsylvania, a gateway to resources related to TeX and LaTeX, the major typesetting tools used in publishing with mathematical notation.
- TeX, LaTeX, and BibTeX ToolsFrom the Open Directory Project.
- Tufts Library Books on LaTeXPrimarily electronic handbooks.
Journal Citation Factors
Citation metrics are a consideration not only in selecting publishing outlets and evaluating authors and publications but they involve some interesting and occasionally controversial calculations as well.
- CiteSeerXBetaCitation factors for Computer Science literature.
- Essential Science IndicatorsFrom the publisher of Web of Science.