Contents
- Indexes and Abstracts
- Electronic Journal Collections
- Other Resources
Indexes and Abstracts
The first three databases listed here provide a comprehensive overview of the engineering and science literature and are top choices for starting your research. The rest are more focused topically but offer many useful features to aid discovery.
- Engineering Village (EV)Premier index database for engineering literature. Includes Compendex (focus: civil, chemical, and mechanical engineering) and INSPEC (focus: electrical, electronics, computer engineering, and physics).
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- SciFinder ScholarFrom Chemical Abstracts. Requires creating an individual account.
- Google ScholarThe Google Scholar Settings for Libraries facilitates linking to Tufts subscriptions.
Journal Collections from Major Publishers
- Academic OneFileFull-text of scholarly journals and trade publications focusing on various engineering disciplines.
Journal Collections from Professional Societies
- IEEE Xplore digital libraryPrint versions and quick access to particular IEEE publications are available by searching for holdings with the title IEEE Transactions
- Institution of Civil EngineersBritish-based professional association for civil engineers, founded in 1818.
- SIAM Journals OnlineFrom the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Other Sources
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryExpanding collection of digitized documents, including many collections of older "gray literature" on various engineering disciplines.
- Registry of Open-Access Repositories (ROAR)Screens OA repositories by country, repository server software, and document type.
- Ulrichsweb.comEspecially useful for locating obscure journals, name changes, and out-of-print resources. Also for determining which databases index or provide abstracts or full text for a journal.
