Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in crime and justice, education, international development and social welfare. Find systematic reviews here.
Conference Proceedings
- ERICLimit search results to Document Type/150 Speeches/meeting Papers.
- ISI ProceedingsAfter entering the database, deselect all databases except those that include proceedings.
Statistics
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)IPEDS is a primary resource for postsecondary education stats. Includes admissions, tuition rates, enrollment numbers, race/ethnicity of students, graduation rates, and amount of financial aid. Data Center: detailed information on individual schools and allows comparison between universities. Tables Library: view and download aggregated data on the state and national level. Publications tab: data products, reports, and working papers and is a rich source of demographic data.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)NCES collects, analyzes, and reports on stats describing the condition of education in the U. S. and other countries. Among the many resources, 4 compilations are available: The Condition of Education (current conditions and trends in education), The Digest of Education Statistics (often the best place to start a search for a statistic on U. S. education), Indicators of School School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics (10-year projections of education statistics).
- National Education AssociationCurrent and projected stats for public K–12 schools on a local, state, and national level in its annual “Rankings and Estimates.” Enrollment, attendance, salaries, per student outlay, etc are provided at a state level. The “Status of the American Public School Teacher” report, published every 5 years, includes statistics about public school teachers in the U.S. including educational background, teaching experience, political leanings, etc.
- Policy MapA web-based geographic information system, Policy Map creates maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, health data, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
- Social Sciences Data and Statistics Resources (Tisch Research Guide)Extensive listing of data resources
- State Education Data ProfilesCompare up to four states on key educational data, including demographics, finances, enrollment, public libraries, and postsecondary education. The state data profiles generated in the comparison include data on the number of schools, students, teachers, pupil/teacher ratio, revenues, expenditures, and National Assessment of Educational Progress scores.
- U.S. Census Bureau: School EnrollmentNational school enrollment data as collected by the Census Bureau annually in the Current Population Survey (CPS). National school enrollment data includes statistics on school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, educational attainment, and college enrollment. Current and historical data are included.
- U. S. Education DashboardIntended to "spur and inform conversations about how to improve educational results and to monitor the country's progress towards reaching our goal of again have the highest proportion of college graduates in the world."
Reviews
Reviews can help you determine a direction you'd like to take in your own research and identify themes of current research that's being conducted. Below are three suggestions for finding reviews.
- Annual Reviews. Reviews primary research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines. See volumes on psychology, sociology, clinical psychology and public health.
- APA Handbooks. Topics include research methods, sexuality, assessment, and much more.
- Limit to literature reviews in PsycInfo. After you conduct your search, open the Methodology facet on the right side. If Literature Review does not appear, select More options.
Recommended websites
- National Writing ProjectFrom Choice: "NWP is a federally funded program that focuses on the teaching of wriring and coordinates and supports professional development for writing teachers (K-16) at over 200 college and university partner sites. Recommended for lower-level undergraduates and up."
- Thomas B. Fordham InstituteFrom Choice: "The mission of the institute is to be the leading source of analysis, commentary and purposeful action in pursuit of educational excellence for every child. Highly recommended for upper-division undergraduates and up."
- East Texas Digital Archives & CollectionsThe East Texas Research Center at SFASU, which maintains Digital Archives & Collections, provide digital copies of photographs, documents, maps, books and other archival materials associated with the East Texas geographical region from the Gulf of Mexico north to the Red River and east of the Trinity River to Western Louisiana, which was once part of Texas.
