Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Data Sources
The organizations which publish the sources listed below are non-governmental international entities (often called NGOs). Their missions vary but all share an interest in the economic relationships among countries and regions. Understanding their respective objectives and memberships facilitate use of these often dense and complicated websites and publications.
An overview of these NGOs and other international or regional organizations that publish economic data is in the International Organizations section of the eReference Europa World Plus.
United Nations Statistics Division
The goal of the United Nations Statistics Division is to support the advancement of a global statistics system. The sites listed here are especially relevant for topics related to FDI.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of UN Statistics Division publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; most are located in the Ginn Library.
Federated search engine for global data across over 25 data sets, which can be filtered by topic or country. Does not track extensive FDI stats directly but includes data from other NGOs as well as data sets on many other topics.
U.N. Statistical Databases
Directory of URLs to various components of the UN Statistics collection, which is aggregated in UNData.
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
Maintained by the Economic Statistics Branch,, this database covers main national accounts aggregates. It represents the joint efforts of the U.N. and international and national statistical agencies. Data can be screened by country and economic indicator and downloaded in tabular format.
International Trade Centre (ITC)
Joint venture of World Trade Organization and the United Nations, includes a Statistical Investment Map which provides data on inward and outwide FDI flows, filterable by countries and topics.
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The goal of the OECD is to support a "stronger, cleaner, fairer world economy." OECD monitors economic developments and researches social changes or trends in trade, environment, agriculture, and other topics. Only 34 countries are full members of the OECD and coverage of non-members varies.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of OECD publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; most are located in the Ginn Library.
Subscription database available through the Tufts Libraries. The term "International Direct Investment" is used for FDI. The Statistics tab provides statistics in both tabular format and embedded in reports. FDI statistics are in the "OECD International Direct Investment Statistics" database.
OECD Investment Statistics and Analysis Portal
OECD's FDI portal, which includes publications (including a quarterly newsletter), reports, and links to OECD statistics.
OECD Stat Extracts
Statistics which are freely available from the OECD website. FDI statistics are located under the topic Globilisation.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of over 180 countries which seeks to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, and promote economic growth.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of IMF publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; many are located in the Ginn Library.
Periodicals, books, and analytical papers from IMF, plus links to statistical portals. Archival coverage stretches back to 1996 for many publications.
Coordinated Direct Investment Survey
Worldwide statistical data collection effort led by the IMF to improve the availability and quality of data on FDI.
International Financial Statistics
Available through Tufts, online database of financial statistics from over 200 countries, going back to 1945. Coverage includes statistics relating to FDI.
IMF Data and Statistics Portal
Collection of data sets. Some items flagged as "order here" are accessible if entered from the International Financial Statistics database listed above. Includes links to statistical bureaus of selected countries.
The goal of United Nations Conference on Trade & Development (UNCTAD) is to promote the integration of emerging countries into the world country.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of UNCTAD publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; most are located in the Ginn Library. Many UNCTAD publications and data sets relate to FDI.
UNCTAD Digital Library
Gateway to UNCTAD's publications, including reports and statistics, some in multiple languages.
UNCTAD Division on Investment and Enterprise
Umbrella site for key sources on FDI and TNCs, including the sources listed below.
Foreign Direct Investment Online
Part of the Foreign Direct Investment Database, includes Country Fact Sheets, Reports, and Briefings, using data from the World Investment Directory.
World Investment Report
Print: Ginn Compact Reference JX1977 IIA W673
Part of the Program on Investment and Enterprise, the World Investment Report, published annually, focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide. Includes interim country fact sheets and reviews, and rankings of MNEs.
Global Trends Monitor
New monthly publication providing up-to-date assessment of global FDI flows.
World Investment Directory
Print: Ginn Compact Reference JX1977 IIA/W67
(through 2004 only).
Detailed information and analysis about foreign direct investment worldwide (information is updated sporadically, depending on the country). The Annexes provide tables on flows, stocks and TNC operations. Items flagged by PDF icons are available in full-text.
World Investment Prospects Survey (WIPS)
Annual reports on prospects for FDI in the upcoming two years.
Transparency in Trade (TNT)
Joint venture of the African Development Bank (AfDB), the International Trade Centre (ITC), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and the World Bank. Portal for sources that discuss trade and by extension impact on FDI flows.
World Bank Group
The World Bank Group provides loans and guidance to developing countries.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of World Bank publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; most are located in the Ginn Library.
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA)
Promotes FDI into developing countries by providing political risk insurance (guarantees) to the private sector. The Projects tab provides a searchable list of projects by country, sector, and guarantee holder. The Sectors and Regions tabs provide reports and analysis by these topics. In 2011, the MIGA discontinued its FDI portal in order to concentrate on political risk issues.
World Bank Data
Data portal for all World bank data. Search under the Indicators for FDI statistics.
WBG Research and Data Portal
Access to all publications and data, filterable by country and topic.
Investing Across Borders (IAB)
Data and analysis of indicators of foreign direct investment regulation.
WBG Doing Business
Measures of business regulations and their enforcement at regional and local levels. Highlights factors that can influence investment flows.
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
Includes cases and articles relating to disputes and jurisdictional issues over FDI. Also includes a listing of bi-lateral investment treaties among countries.
Global Development Finance
Print: Ginn Reference HJ8899 .W672
Released every spring, annual survey of recent trends and prospects for capital flows to developing countries with an analysis of important policy issues.
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is a global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations and oversees WTO agreements among trading nations. WTO seeks to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. Although not explicitly focused on FDI, the WTO had initiatives and publications which address the relationship between trade and investment.
The Tufts Libraries has numerous print versions of WTO publications, which can be retrieved by searching on the organization's full name as the author; many are located in the Ginn Library.
International data on trade, tariffs, and related topics.
Discussions on FDI often appear in the WTO's annual World Trade reports, particularly with regards to global supply chains.
Access to documents related to international trade law, a full-text search engine for GATT/WTO decisions. The site's subscription service, Dispute settlement commentary (DSC), provides summaries and analysis of WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports, an index of legal provisions and terms, and a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics.