EC 0136: Topics in Economic Development: Health

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Bank
This site presents basic HNP data inequalities within 56 low- and middle-income countries. The data are drawn from 95 household surveys undertaken in these countries by the Demographic and Health Survey project between 1990 and 2005.

Be sure to use data and statistics and publications sections

Find consumer trends and lifestyles statistics and reports, such as smoking, obesity and other health issues.
World statistics not European!

For news on emerging markets and global developments. Includes foreign language content.

Data and reports from Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development

From the United Nations Human Development Report

Financial, political and economic risk ratings, some data back to 1984.
Over 75 variables for more than 150 countries including ratings and data from the International Country Risk Guide and Coplin O'Leary PRS Forecast. Updated monthly with archives back to 1984. Note: CountryData offers spreadsheet data only. For PRS text and analysis, see International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services, both found in LexisNexis.

- Be sure to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker
- Click on the homepage link to CountryData under

Statistical information from the U.S. , local and international governments and organizations and associations.

HealthMap, a team of researchers, epidemiologists and software developers at Boston Children's Hospital founded in 2006, is an established global leader in utilizing online informal sources for disease outbreak monitoring and real-time surveillance of emerging public health threats.

The Atlas organizes 179 indicators from the World Bank’s development database into 25 key themes, such as Poverty: How Poor is Poor?, Education: Children at Work, Economy: People on the Move, and Environment: Energy Security and Climate Change.

Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.

Full-text of Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Finance and Country Commerce series, and Risk Briefing.

The CIA's handbook of basic geographical and statistical information on the nations of the world. Includes maps.

Full text of the Europa World Year Book. Offers country reports, statistics and directories of over 250 countries and territories from all over the world.

Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from regional bureaus.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.