Helpful Hints
You may be familiar with several journal collections that behave like databases such as JSTOR, this only has selected history journals, granted some of the best, but not all, and they are not the current issues. So you should really be using subject databases/indexes such as those listed on this page to search through much more!
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full-text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in JumboSearch, restricting to the Library Catalog.
Subject Indexes for History and Beyond
- Historical Abstracts.Publications from 1969 to the present. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesBibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, subject, country, keyword and ISSN.
- ATLA Religion Database. 1949- .Covers all religions and parts of the world.
- JSTORPlease note and remember that the journals in history are not all the ones that exist, maybe some of the best, and that they are not the most recent. Please be sure to use the Advanced search and make sure your terms are in the title or abstract, not full-text, for the most relevant results.
- Women's Studies International1972- .
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsWorldwide Political Science Abstracts supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy and covers over 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature.
- EconLit. 1969- .Provides subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers.
- Index Islamicus.The Index Islamicus covers Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit of the Cambridge University Library and indexes articles back to 1906.
- PAIS International1972-
Public Affairs International Service covers many publications beyond books and articles, including government publications.
Interdisciplinary Indexes
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975- .Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in history and many other journals in the humanities. Part of Web of Science.
- Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956- .The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. You can search both this index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index together.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)The IBSS has more than two million references to articles and books going back to 1951 in the social sciences.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full TextA comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world offering over 2 million titles, more than 930,000 of which are available in PDF format for immediate download. New full-text titles are added weekly.
- Gale Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources.