History 195: Decolonization in Asia -- Jalal

Full-text of several British periodicals (1680s-1930s)

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present

To search this collection only, on the Advanced Search screen, under "Narrow By" click "Pamphlet."
Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545.

Search the Economist as far back in history as you like.

British and colonial newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) during his lifetime

1914 to the present

This digitized primary source collection draws from British Foreign Office files and contains a wide variety of formats including diplomatic dispatches, telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera focused on India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, but also covering Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir. The collection is organized into three sections: Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964; South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-1971; and Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civil Rule in Pakistan, 1972-1980.

Electronic reproduction of material relating to the European colonial period. Empire online is an extensive, interactive digital resource enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, religion, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of colonial empires from the explorations of Columbus and Captain Cook, to decolonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism. A broad selection of letter books, periodicals, travel writings and more have been selected from leading archives around the world, including the British Library, providing valuable insight into the key events and themes of the European colonial period.

Provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

From Columbia University Libraries South and Southeast Asia Studies

From The International Institute of Social History

Includes collections in images, maps, indexes, books & journals, and downloadable data on British India through the 1920s and links to the current Indian census materials, which includes some as well older Census materials

Digital copies of 19th and 20th century censuses from the Internet Archive.

Census of India, 1941, Census of India, 1931, Census of India, 1921, Census of India, 1911, Census of India, 1881
Census Tables, 1941, Census Tables, 1931, Census Tables 1911

43 reels. Tisch Microforms MFR570
Covers c. 1830-1955
Pt. 1. The colour question in imperial policy, 1830-1939; Pt. 2. Imperial and commonwealth conferences, 1835-1955.

Includes the papers of Sir Ronald Storrs (1881-1956) from Pembroke College, Cambridge. The guide to the collection is in the Tisch reference collection while the manuscripts are on microform.

Print: TISCH OVERSIZE JZ 632…
Numerous sets from the mid-nineteenth century to 1950.

Print: 170 volumes. Ginn Ref JX 226 .G7A5

From the Victorian Web: literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria

This series presents the official declassifed historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Print: Tisch Books Stacks JX 233 .A3.
Please NOTE: Supplemental documents were issued on microfiche. Guides will appear with those volumes updated and the microfiche will be in Microforms and Current Periodicals in MRF181.

Documents from the Truman administration to Reagan. Earlier volumes available and searchable from the University of Wisconsin's Digital Collections

FBIS Daily Reports presents translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe.
More recent reports in WorldNews Connection