Skip to Main Content

Research Guides@Tufts

History of Pre-Modern China

This guide is primarily designed for students in HIST 040: Pre-Modern China . However, the resources listed here will be useful for anyone interested in the topic.

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles, published in journals and other periodical literature, provide focused and often cutting edge research on a topic. The best scholarly articles are peer-reviewed and are published in academic journals. Databases, such as those listed on this page, are often the best sources for finding scholarly articles on your topic. Many of these databases will provide full text of articles which you can download, but some will only provide bibliographic information such as tile, author, and in what journal the article is published. This bibliographic information can be used to find the article in the library catalog or JumboSearch.

Recommended Databases

Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in History. Within these databases, you can locate articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

Please note that to access most of the below resources, you will be asked to input your Tufts credentials. 

 

Database Search Strategies

Once you've identified the keywords and phrases for your topic, you can start to search the databases for articles on that topic. For example, if you want to write about how women won the right to vote in the United States turn your topic into a keyword search like this:

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
women and vote and United States

Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
women and vote* and United States

Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
(women or female) and (vote* or suffrag*) and (United States or America*)

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Vote*

 Suffrag*

 America*

Will Find:

 Vote
 Votes
 Voter
 Voters

 Suffrage
 Suffragette
 Suffragettes
 

 

 America
 American
 Americans
 America's