"The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025 provides advice on what to eat and drink to meet nutrient needs, promote health, and help prevent chronic disease. This edition of the Dietary Guidelines is the first to provide guidance for healthy dietary patterns by life stage, from birth through older adulthood, including women who are pregnant or lactating."
"The Advisory Report helps to inform the federal government of the body of scientific evidence on topics related to diet, nutrition, and health. The Advisory Report is not the Dietary Guidelines policy or a draft of the policy."
Created by the USDA, "ChooseMyPlate.Gov" offers "practical information and tips to help Americans build healthier diets." "ChooseMyPlate.Gov" replaces the "MyPyramid.Gov" web site.
The Atlas assembles statistics on three broad categories of food environment factors: Food Choices, Health and Well-Being, and Community Characteristics. The Atlas currently includes 168 indicators of the food environment. Some data are from the last Census of Population in 2000 while others are as recent as 2009. Some are at the county level while others are at the State or regional level. The most recent county-level data are used whenever possible.
Administered by the USDA, Food and Nutrition Services (FSN) "works to end hunger and obesity through the administration of 15 federal nutrition assistance programs including WIC, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and school meals."
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.
The Library evaluates, synthesizes, and grades research using rigorous and transparent methodology to define the state of food and nutrition-related science. NEL provides ongoing support to the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee’s scientific review process for developing recommendations for the Dietary Guidelines for Americans. In the future, NEL will serve as a key resource for making food and nutrition research accessible to all Americans.
CNPP is an agency of the USDA charged with the "mission to improve the health of Americans by (1) advancing and promoting food and nutrition guidance for all Americans; (2) assessing diet quality; and (3) advancing consumer, nutrition, and food economic knowledge."
"The IOM has an extensive history of examining the nation’s nutritional well-being and providing sound information about food and nutrition. Our work speaks to the safety and adequacy of the U.S. food supply, proper use of dietary supplements, the need for adequate nutrition among particular populations, and guidelines for nutrient intake."
“The Global GoTo Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP.” Report includes the “Top Health Policy Think Tanks” and “Top Social Policy Think Tanks”
Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical to current times, referencing many types of sources includiong journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, and websites.
Covers all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Research Guides@Tufts