LibGuides: Agriculture: Global

Organizations

Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)
"CGIAR is a global research partnership for a food secure future dedicated to reducing poverty, enhancing food and nutrition security, and improving natural resources."
Eldis.org
"Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues,' including agriculture and nutrition.
European Union
Resources on agriculturally policy produced by the European Union.
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
The FAO "is an agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Serving both developed and developing countries, FAO acts as a neutral forum where all nations meet as equals to negotiate agreements and debate policy. FAO is also a source of knowledge and information, and helps developing countries and countries in transition modernize and improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices, ensuring good nutrition and food security for all."
International Food Policy Research Institute
"The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty. "
One Acre Fund
"One Acre Fund is a non-profit social enterprise that supplies financing and training to help smallholders grow their way out of hunger and build lasting pathways to prosperity."
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Data, policy documents and other materials on agriculture produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
World Bank
Statistical data and resources related to agriculture and food production produced by the World Bank.

Food and Beverage Data

Passport Nutrition
Part of Euromonitor's Passport GMID, Passport Nutrition is a "a first-of-its-kind database examining the total amount of nutrients purchased through packaged food and soft drink products worldwide". To access Passport Nutrition, on the top of the main page, select "Industries >Nutrition.” Data on fresh food and alcoholic beverages is also available.
Wolfram | Alpha Agriculture
Provides access to data regarding food consumption, land use, livestock, and crop production.

Country Profiles

Eldis.org - Country and Regional Profiles
Provides extensive coverage of specific topics related to development for both individual countries and regions.
FAO Country Profiles
Presents data and descriptions of key sectors regarding land, forest and natural resource management.
FAOSTAT Data
Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Regional and Country Profiles - Eldis.org
Contains data and documents related to agriculture, food and nutrition for individual countries as well as regions.
World Development Indicators
Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Africa

Africa - Atlas of African agriculture research & development
Created by International Food Policy Research Institute, the "Atlas of African Agriculture Research & Development highlights the ubiquitous role of smallholder agriculture in Africa; the many factors shaping the location, nature, and performance of agricultural enterprises; and the strong interdependencies among farming, natural-resource stocks and flows, and the well-being of the poor."
Africa Development Indicators
"Statistical information comprised of 1,000 indicators and time series from 1965 for 53 African countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators."
Africa South of Sahara - Eldis.org
Contains profiles on individual African nations south of the Sahara as well as reports on the region as a whole.

Africa-Wide Information
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
Middle East and Africa Database
The Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America. This is the electronic version of Middle East, Abstracts & Index.

Middle East and North Africa - Eldis.org
Contains profiles on individual north African and middle eastern nations as well as reports on the region as a whole.
One Acre Fund
"One Acre Fund is a non-profit social enterprise that supplies financing and training to help smallholders grow their way out of hunger and build lasting pathways to prosperity."
South Africa - Agricultural statistics
Compiled by Statistics South Africa (Stats SA).

East Asia

China - Agricultural Year Book
English-language site. Compiled by the Ministry of Agriculture of the Peoples republic of China.
Japan - Agriculture Statistical Yearbook
Produced by Japan's Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, this statistical yearbook contains data for 2012-2013.
Philippines - Agricultural Statistics
Agricultural statistics compiled by the Philippine Statistics Authority.
South Korea - Agriculture and Fishery Statistics
Compiled by Statistics Korea.

Europe

Russian Federation - Agricultural Data
English-language site. Compiled by the Federal State Statistics Service of the Russian Federation.

Latin America and the Caribbean

EcoAmericas
Monthly reports on development and environment issues in Latin America; archives back to 1998.

North America

For information regarding agriculture inthe United States, please select the United States tab at the top of this guide.

Canada - Canadian Agriculture at a Glance
Compiled by Statistics Canada.
United States - Summary Data
A" comprehensive summary of agricultural activity for the United States... Includes number of farms by size and type, inventory and values for crops and livestock, operator characteristics, and much more."

South Asia

Bangladesh - Statistical Yearbook
Compiled by the Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics. Includes agricultural data.
India - Agricultural Statistics
Compiled by the Ministry of Agriculture in India. Select "Statistics > Agriculture" link at the top of the homepage.
South Asia - Eldis.org
Contains profiles on individual South Asian nations as well as reports on the region as a whole.