LibGuides: NUTR 226 Health Claims and the Food Industry: 'Grey' Literature and Policy Resources

"Grey Literature"

What is "Grey Literature"?

"The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature (GL '99) in Washington, DC, in October 1999 defined grey literature as follows: "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." From the New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report (http://www.greylit.org/about)

"Grey Literature" includes reports, presentations, technical manuals and other materials produced by a range of stakeholders. These materials can be difficult to find. In addition to the resources listed below, you may also want to review the resources listed under Policy Resources (especially PAIS and PolicyFile) as well as under Federal Reports.

Grey Literature in the Health Sciences
Created by University of Pennsylvania's Library, this guide presents an overview, tips and sources for locating unpublished (aka "grey") literature," in the health sciences.
Grey Literature Report
From the New York Academy of Medicine Library (NYAM), a monthly alerting service listing new studies and reports on health services and public health issues from over 500 government agencies and healthcare organizations. Links to a searchable database.
GreyNet International
" The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature. GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments."
OpenGrey
"Open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe"

Policy Resources

2018 Global Go to Think Tanks Index Report
“The Global GoTo Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP.” Report includes the “Top Health Policy Think Tanks” and “Top Social Policy Think Tanks”
Bloomberg School of Public Health Research Centers
List of nutrition policy-related research centers based at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
CNPP is an agency of the USDA charged with the "mission to improve the health of Americans by (1) advancing and promoting food and nutrition guidance for all Americans; (2) assessing diet quality; and (3) advancing consumer, nutrition, and food economic knowledge."
Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025
"The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025 provides advice on what to eat and drink to meet nutrient needs, promote health, and help prevent chronic disease. This edition of the Dietary Guidelines is the first to provide guidance for healthy dietary patterns by life stage, from birth through older adulthood, including women who are pregnant or lactating."
EconLit
Indexes over 120 years of economics literature from around the world, providing citations from journals, books, and working papers.
Food & Nutrition Resource Portal
Provides access to resources produced by the United Nations Systems Standing Committee on Nutrition as well as partnering organizations.
Food Studies Online
"Food Studies Online is a multi-format online resource that includes archival content, visual ephemera (e.g. advertisements), text, and video covering the topic of food from social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political
perspectives"
Healthy People
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical to current times, referencing many types of sources includiong journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, and websites.

Policy File Index
Provides access to research from major think tanks, research organizations, and university research programs. Contains information on a complete range of policy issues, both domestic and international. Updated weekly.

Scientific Report of the 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee
"The Advisory Report helps to inform the federal government of the body of scientific evidence on topics related to diet, nutrition, and health. The Advisory Report is not the Dietary Guidelines policy or a draft of the policy."