Buddhist Art: Home

Prof. Ikumi Kaminishi's  publications:

• Explaining pictures: Buddhist propaganda and etoki storytelling in Japan.
• Dead Beautiful: Visualizing the Decaying Corpse in Nine Stages as Skillful Means of Buddhism
• The Political Culture Of A Scroll: Jiens Appropriation Of Kitano Tenjin
• Zenmyō's True Colors: Demonstrating Non-Duality of Form and Emptiness in the Kegon Scroll.

A Few Introductory Titles at Tisch Library:

• The Arts of China to AD 900 / William Watson
• The Arts of China / Michael Sullivan
• The Art and Architecture of India / Benjamin Rowland
• Hindu Art and Architecture / George Michell
• History of Japanese Art. / Penelope Mason; revised by Donald Dinwiddie.
• Indian Art. / Partha Mitter.

Reference Works:

• An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints, and Demons: with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes / Fredrick W. Bunce
• Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism / Donald S. Lopez
• Dictionary of Buddhist IconographyLokesh Chandra.
• The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism  / Robert E. Jr. Buswell , Donald S. Jr. Lopez


• The Art of Buddhism: an Introduction to its History & Meaning / Denise Patry Leidy
• Buddhist Art and Architecture / Robert E. Fisher
• Reading Buddhist Art: an Illustrated Guide to Buddhist Signs and Symbols. Meher McArthur.

• Artibus Asiae
• Ars Orientalis
• Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
• The Burlington Magazine
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
• Oxford Art Journal
• Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique

• The Art Bulletin.
• Art History
• Art Journal
• Architectural History
• Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians

• The China Quarterly
• China Review International
• Modern China
• Modern Chinese Literature and Culture

• The Journal of Japanese Studies
• Mechademia
• Monumenta Nipponica

I. Bibliographies

• Thematic Essays from The Metropolitan Museum of Art:
• Asian Art: China, Japan and South & Southeast Asia

Oxford Art Online

 

Annotated Bibliographies:

• Buddhist Art and Architecture in China
• Buddhist Art and Architecture in India
• Buddhist Art and Architecture in Japan
• Japanese Architecture

 

---

II. Journal Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Art, Asian Studies, and Related Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier (all subjects)
• Art & Architecture Source
• ATLA Religion
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.)
• Women's Studies International

 

Tip: Search for Review of Books on A Topic

• 1. limit your search to Reviews or Book Reviews

  2. Use keywords such as "review", "current research".

---

III. JumboSearch for Books  

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.

  

Topical keywords and phrases to consider

• A. Themes and Genres (budda or buddhis*) and art and enlighten* (budda or buddhis*) and paint* and japan* (budda or buddhis*) and scroll* and japan* (buddhis* or zen) and landscape* and japan* Sculpture, Gupta Buddhist gods in art Hindu gods in art *Use ( ) and OR to group related words in a search; * buddhis* searches buddhist, buddhism, etc.   B. Buddhism, Women and Art Women in Buddhism Buddhist nuns Buddhist goddesses Buddhist goddesses in art Amitābha (Buddhist deity) Pure Land Buddhism Pure Land Buddhism in art Mahayana Buddhism Mandala (Buddhism) Mahayana Buddhism Upāya (Buddhism) Avalokiteśvara (Buddhist deity) (Guan Yi or Kuan Yi) Bodhisattva buddh* and gender C. Zen & Tea Aesthetics Zen Monks, Tea Masters,     Sen Rikyū,       Hakuin, 1686-1769, Chashitsu (Japanese tearooms), Japanese tea ceremony Chado (art / zen) D. Broader Contexts: Buddhist Art -- China Buddhist Art -- India Buddhist Art -- Japan Buddhist Art -- Korea   Buddhist art Buddhist architecture Buddhist painting   Buddhist sculpture   Buddhism and art Buddhist Art and Symbolism Enlightenment and Art Buddhism and culture Buddhism and literature

 

Exhibition Catalogues

• These exhibition and museum catalogues are uniquely valuable sources, which may include: *Fundamental data on each work of art; *Official images of the artworks; *Curatorial statements/essays; *essays by art critics/historians; *list of scholarly publications on the art, *and more.   A sample titles The smile of Buddha: 1600 years of Buddhist art in Korea / conceived by Jan Van Alphen; with contributions by: Jan Van Alphen ... [et al.] N8193.A3 B78 2008 Buddha, Buddhism and Buddhist art in India / Jan Van Alphen -- Chinese roots of Korean Buddhism : The Chinese transformation of Buddhism / Etienne Hauttekeete -- Korean Buddhism : a historical overview / Sem Vermeersch -- Buddhism : the origin of Korean art / Kan Woo Bang -- Development and characteristics of Buddhist sculpture in Korea / Kwak Dong Seok -- Buddhist architecture of Korea / Kim Bongryol -- The charcteristics and transformation of Koren Buddhist crafts / Choi Eung-Chon -- Buddhist ceramics in Korea : three kingdoms to Goryeo period / Kim Young-Won -- Buddhist paintings of Korea / Kim Seung Hee.

 

---

IV. Image Sources and Web Sites

• New York Public Library Picture Collection
• New York Public Library Web Gallery of Images

 

• ARTstor


• Tisch Library Special Collections