Good to know:
Information does not exist in a vacuum!
Contact a librarian if you have questions about the resources on this guide or the context in which they are presented.
Library Contact
Tips for getting started
Use JumboSearch to find out what kinds of sources are immediately available to you at Tufts. JumboSearch includes results from our library catalog (books, multimedia resources, etc.) as well as journal articles.
It's also legitimate and acceptable to start by searching the open web: Google Scholar and Wikipedia can be great starting points! Researchers' lab websites, social media accounts, or public press releases can help you figure out how this topic is being presented to a general audience.
Finding scholarly articles and conference proceedings
- Engineering VillageContains articles, conference proceedings, and research from a variety of engineering disciplines.
- Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary database with articles, proceedings, and papers in the sciences, engineering, and social sciences.
- Google ScholarIndexes a wide range of scholarly resources using the familiar Google interface. In the settings in Google Scholar you can enter "Tufts" in the Library Links section to activate "Get This Item at Tufts" links to access the full-text of articles.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Finding civil engineering articles
- Construction Criteria BaseElectronic library of construction-focused documents from Federal Agencies.
- Whole Building Design GuideFrom the National Institute of Building Sciences, sources on integrated 'Whole Building' design techniques and technologies.
Finding environmental and water resource articles
- Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) DatabaseContains EIS prepared by federal agencies, as well as EPA's comment letters. Covers EIS from 1987 to present.
- Environment & Safety Resource CenterIncludes laws, regulations, government documents, Bloomberg Environment analyses, case studies, and news related to environmental safety.
- AquaPediaCase study database
- Environmental Measurements and ModelingThe Environmental Protection Agency's collection of methods for environmental research. This page also links to resources for measuring and monitoring.
Finding public health articles
- Public and Community HealthA more in-depth guide to public health sources.
- Global HealthProvides comprehensive coverage of the international public-health literature, particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety, nutrition policy, and epidemiology.
- PubMed@TuftsThis PubMed link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE content contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. PubMed links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.