LibGuides: Company Research: Directories & Histories

Historical Corporate Reports

Annual Reports at Business Libraries Portal

D&B Hoovers
Includes annual reports and SEC filings back to early 1990s.

Corporate Reports at HBS Baker Library
Index to the SEC filings on microfiche, 1978-1997
Available at Library of Congress

Company Histories

Additional sources on company histories are available in the Business History page of the Business & Management guide.

International Directory of Company Histories
Print: Tisch Reference HD2721 .I63
Encyclopedia of American Industries (2008)
Provides history up to 2008 of diverse industries in the U.S.
AM Explorer
Includes historical market research and american business information (1935-1965)
Dun & Bradstreet Reference Book Collection
Digital copies of directories with company profiles from 1900-1924.
Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
Listing of corporate archives by name, archivist, or geographic location. Specific collections also can be identified by Googling on company names and the term "corporate archives" or by advanced searching in BLC WorldCat (see below) on all libraries with the company name as the Subject and Archival Material as the Format.
National Archives (NARA) Private Sector Collections
Information about archives collections in the U.S. National Archives relating to private sector business activities. The national archives of other countries also may have collections on businesses.
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook 2000
These volumes produced annually for many years provide a wealth of historical statistics on a wide-range of industries.
Historical Business Directories
Scroll to the bottom for old Moody's Company Directories, etc.

Alternative Directories

While most corporate directories focus on the economic and business activities of companies, some focus on other aspects, such as philanthropy and corporate citizenship. A sampling are shown here.

B Corporation Directory
Online directory of companies which meet certain standards of positive impact on social and environmental problems.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Detailed information on companies' practices related to labor, health, environment, fair trade, and other hot topics. Profiles can be screened by company or industry.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Standard company information augmented by information on grantmaking and charitable activities.
Organic Products Resources
From the Organic Trade Association (OTA), directories and other resources about products, manufacturers, producers and other parties involved in promoting the organic industry.
WIPO Gold
The World Intellectual Property Organization's portal for tracking all aspects of IP. Modules include the Global Brands Database, Design Registrations, and Domain Names decisions. Can be used to identify information on trademarks and patents.