Company Research

A Company's own materials can provide information on its products, services, business operations as well as financial reports. Company financial reports are often located in the company's investor relations web page.

Global coverage of companies, industries, and executives. Includes RMA Industry Norms (statistical summaries of key financial and operating ratios for an industry), industry reports, and profiles for both public and private companies.

Global market information on countries, consumers, and companies through in-depth reports and relevant statistical data. Includes consumer demographics and market trends.

Annual reports, profiles, marketing research reports, downloadable data, and news items on companies and their industries in emerging markets. Excellent source for information on smaller companies and subsidiaries of U.S. and European entities.

Over 14 million U.S. companies; public & private; includes detailed information on smaller firms. Can be used to identify producers and suppliers.

Clicking the Companies/Markets tab provides access to extensive information on companies and customizable reporting.

Pitchbook provides data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. Also detailed private and public company financials.

A searchable business directory of American firms operating in foreign countries and foreign firms operating in the U.S.

Business literature database. The Advanced Search enables searching on specific companies by using the Company/Org field in combination with other search terms.

Public and private company profiles and industry reports. Works best in Edge browser. Click on “Menu” in upper left and select “All Sources”. Then click on “Company and Financial” and build your search from the screen that appears.

Joint project of the German National Library of Economics and the University and City Library of Cologne, gateway to materials in multiple languages from global sources, including many freely available sources. Coverage includes sources on companies and industries.

Locate products and suppliers by industry sector in the U.S.

The Advanced Search option enables searching on specific document types such as Industry Overview and Industry Ranking as well as Company and Brand names.

Portal to company (both public and private) and industry reports from major business publishers. Reports are not free but the summaries can provide leads to other sources.

A very top level company research portal. It looks like most of the information is scraped from a firm's investor relations page.

The SEC online interface is called EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) and permits searching by company name, ticker, location, or SIC code. The 10K and 8K reports are particularly valuable in terms of understanding a company's industry, risks, and opportunities. Reports typically are only available for publicly-held U.S. companies or foreign companies registered on U.S. exchanges.