The data section links to a comprehensive guide to data and statistics for macro data, international data, finance data as well as supplemental datasets from key academic economic journals, where available.
"...provide[s] information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau."
brings together key reports and data sets divided into areas such as Dynamic Data and Maps from the New York Fed, Tools and Indicators from the New York Fed, and Key Data from the New York Fed. The reports here include quarterly trends for consolidated U.S. banking organizations, the indexes of coincident economic indicators, and the Empire Manufacturing Survey.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System. You can even use our GIS mapping services to easily incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.
The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Serves as a convenient volume for statistical reference as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. Also available through the library's ProQuest Statistical Abstract subscription.
"The Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) is normally a triennial cross-sectional survey of U.S. families. The survey data include information on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics"
Detailed records of government procurement & spending. Can search by various geographies (including congressional district), by agency, by recipient, by type of program, and many others. Get summary data for agency expenditures by congressional district over time by clicking on the Trends tab. For detailed transactions, one can only search by one congressional district at a time; however, under the advanced search one can search by state and then there is an option to export the full detailed list of transactions to CSV, which includes details on the congressional district for both the recipient and place of performance.
Over 75 variables for more than 150 countries including ratings and data from the International Country Risk Guide and Coplin O'Leary PRS Forecast. Updated monthly with archives back to 1984. Note: CountryData offers spreadsheet data only. For PRS text and analysis, see International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services, both found in LexisNexis.
Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.
The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods. Links to interactive databases.
Euromonitor's Passport, is a comprehensive market research database incorporating detailed statistics and research analysis of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions.
The eAtlas organizes 179 indicators from the World Bank’s development database into 25 key themes, such as Poverty: How Poor is Poor?, Education: Children at Work, Economy: People on the Move, and Environment: Energy Security and Climate Change.
Part of the Web of Knowledge/Science suite of databases, citations of, with direct links for, data sets which are cited in journal articles and other sources. Be sure to deselect Science under the Citation Databases option!
From these journals:
American Economic Review
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Review
Journal of Applied Econometrics
Journal of Business and Economic Statistics
Journal of Political Economy
The Review of Economic Studies
Review of Economics and Statistics
This wiki will help you learn how to use ProQuest Statistical Insight (a redesign and improvement of LexisNexis Statistical), and will also provide valuable information on researching and using statistical information.
Fully searchable and downloadable compendium of statistics that includes over 37,000 data series on various topics. Allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is designed to preserve and provide access to economic and banking data and policy documents. See blue i for list of specific resources.
To this end, various types of documents have been digitized, including: Government data publications, Statistical releases, Congressional hearings, Reports by various organizations, Books, Publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Publications of the Federal Reserve Banks Statements, and speeches of Fed policymakers, Archival materials of economic policymakers.
Covers 1790-2000, with special non-population census, including manufacturing, special historical and modern reports and publications in .pdf and .zip formats you can download. You cannot search the pdfs.
"International historical statistics; 1750-2010 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source."
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Gold standard of curation, cleaning, and description of datasets. Includes government data as well as researcher-created data, including election data, opinion polls, more.