Having trouble accessing a resource?
Some databases only provide citation information to an article or resource rather than the full text. Tisch's book and eBook collections are extensive, but do not have every single book on a given topic. Other times, you may find something on Google Scholar to which Tufts does not have instant access. Interlibrary loan can help provide you with access to the resources that you need with help from other libraries and universities.
- Interlibrary LoanInformation on the process and policies for borrowing books and other sources from other libraries.
- BLC (Boston Library Consortium) Worldcat(millions of books in this area and worldwide)
Other Online Resources
- Google ScholarGoogle's view of the scholarly web.
- Link Google Scholar to Tufts ResourcesFollow these directions so that Google Scholar will automatically check to see if Tufts provides access to full-text articles.
- Classics in the History of PsychologyThis open access library of canonical psychological texts was created by Christopher D. Green at York University in Toronto, Canada.
- "Speaking of Psychology" Podcast"Speaking of Psychology" is a podcast series highlighting some of the latest, important, and relevant psychological research being conducted today. The podcast is produced by the American Psychological Association.
- The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)This site lists brochures and other materials produced by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) for health consumers.
Find Articles in JumboSearch
Jumbo Search is a great place to start because it searches many of the Tisch Library's resources all at once. However, it doesn't search everything, and so using subject specific databases like the ones in the curated lists below can help you find more resources.
Select Psychology Databases
- PsycARTICLESThis database offers full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- PsychiatryOnlineProvides access to peer reviewed journals, reference books including DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR handbook of differential diagnosis, and the complete DSM archives from the American Psychiatric Association.
- Social Science Research NetworkSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open access resource devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources.
- Web of ScienceSearch across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.
- Project MUSEProvides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Tests and Measures
- Finding Research Instruments - University of Connecticut LibraryThis research guide from the University of Connecticut Library provides concise tips for finding and gaining access to tests and measures.
- PsycTESTSProvides access to abstracts and some full-text of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Most records include the actual instrument.
- TestLink - ETSTestLink is a database of tests and other measurement devices hosted by the Educational Testing Service (ETS), a private educational testing and assessment organization. The database contains tests from U.S. publishers, individual test authors, and non-U.S. sources ranging from the 20th century to the present.
Finding Books Using JumboSearch
You can filter your results in JumboSearch based on Resource Type (such as book or eBook). For books you can also filter by availability (either available in any Tufts library or by library) to only see books that have not been checked out by other patrons.
If you need any help finding a book, eBook, or any other resource, please do not hesitate to ask for help!
Finding Books at Tisch
Psychology research can be very interdisciplinary. However, class B of the Library of Congress classification system (the organization system of Tisch's physical collections) is devoted to Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion.
Not sure where the books are in the library? Check out the library map below or ask at the front desk.
Select sections which may be the most helpful to you when looking for books and some eBooks:
- BF Psychology
- BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
- BF180-198.7 Experimental psychology
- BF207-209 Psychotropic drugs and other substances
- BF309-499 Consciousness and cognition (includes learning, memory, and psycholinguistics as well)
- BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology
Note: The Library of Congress classification and subject headings systems are large and complex systems subject to government approval, and as a result, sometimes the process to update the classifications and subject headings to their most current terms, especially those pertaining to race, gender, and sexuality, can be slow. Please feel free to ask a librarian more about how the classification and subject headings systems are structured, their biases, and current efforts to improve the terminology within them.
- Tisch Library statement on potentially harmful language in our catalogsThis statement from Tisch Library breaks down the ways that the Library is actively working to right the historic wrongs of harmful language in the catalogs and descriptive language used to describe resources.
