International
Pew Research Center
National surveys of individuals' values and beliefs in more than 80 societies.
PIPA (Program on International Policy Attitudes)
Studies public opinion on international issues "...with the purpose of giving public opinion a greater voice in international relations." 1994-2001 publications available and post-2001 at WorldPublicOpinion.org.
European Commission, Public Opinion Analysis sector.
Chicago Council on Global Affairs
Produces a biannual study comparing American and international public opinion.
Global Public Opinion Data & Surveys
Guide to mostly free sources from Princeton Libraries; includes election studies.
A research network based out of U Michigan that has been conducting opinion surveys in the MENA countries since 2006. It is the largest repository of publicly available data on views of men and women in the region. They also have a data analysis tool where you can download the results.
United States
Odum Institute (1960- )
Contains the National Network of State Polls and is maintained by the University of North Carolina. Largest collection of state level polls.
National Journal polling data on political events of the day.
Pollingreport.com (1985- )
Summary-level highlights from recent national polls.
- General Social SurveyData to help monitor and explain trends in American behaviors, demographics, and opinions.
Public Opinion Sources
- iPOLL DatabankThe iPOLL Databank from the Roper Center Public Opinion Archives focuses on national scope surveys and contains not only the complete question text and responses to half a million questions from as far back as 1935, but also information such as study abstracts, links to questionnaires, datasets and citation information where available.
- Pew Research CenterPublic opinion polling, demographic research, and media content analysis in a number of areas, including U.S. Politics and Journalism & Media.
- Gallup AnalyticsGallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain. Also try searching Gallup News Trends for aggregated reports.
- World Values SurveyCross-national comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics, monitoring changes in values and attitudes across the globe.
- Polling the NationsPolling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion material from the United States and abroad. It contains the full text of some 400,000 questions and responses on 4,500 topics.
- EurobarometerEstablished in 1973, Eurobarometer surveys are conducted two or more times a year encompassing social and political attitudes in all European Union member states.
- Arab BarometerMulti-country social survey designed to assess citizen attitudes about public affairs, governance, and social policy in the Arab world, and to identify factors that shape these attitudes and values. Also available through ICPSR.
- AfrobarometerAfrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues across more than 30 countries in Africa.
- Latin American Public Opinion ProjectSurveys of public opinion in the Americas. From Vanderbilt University.
Subject Guide
Fletcher School
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155