Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related Research Guides
In addition to the guides listed below, a many research guides list data sources pertinent to a specific discipline or topic.
Definition of Statistics
According to the American Statistical Association, statistics is “science of learning from data, and of measuring, controlling, and communicating uncertainty; and it thereby provides the navigation essential for controlling the course of scientific and societal advances.” This guide focuses statistics as a discipline, separate from the data that it addresses.
Indexes and Abstracts
Premier index for the mathematics literature, including Statistics, which is Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) scheme number 62, in between Probability theory and stochastic processes
and Numerical analysis
. The MSC Search Option
retrieves articles based on major subject headings.
Extensive index to the scientific, technical, and medical literature. Enables easy linking to the references and later citing articles of a selected work. Many relevant sources are tagged for the subject heading "Decision Sciences."
Web of Science
Extensive index to the literature of science and mathematics. Enables easy linking to the references and later citing works of articles, books, and data sets. Many relevant sources are tagged for the subject heading "Statistics Probability."
Published by the American Economic Association and an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), indexes all types of works, including both theoretical and applied, including issues related to statistics. The EconLit Thesaurus, based on the JEL Classification System
provides statistically related, subject headings.
Engineering Village (EV)
Premier index for the engineering literature, EV includes articles and conference proceedings related to statistical and probability applications for all aspects of engineering design and management.
Dozens of statistical journals exist and many are in the Tufts Libraries collections. Relevant journals can be segmented by country of origin; whether they are theoretical or applied; degree of generality versus specificity of topics; and publisher type (professional society, research institute, or commerical publisher).
American Mathematical Society (AMS) Journals
Pure and applied math journals published by AMS. Includes major titles on statistics and probability.
Open access e-prints in mathematics, statistics, and related disciplines.
Full-text of over 50 journals on statistics, including those published by major associations. Issues from the recent years are unavailable on this platform; the Tufts catalog provides links to more recent issues.
Full-text journals focusing on theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
SIAM Journals Online
From the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), includes journals focusing on applied statistics.
Journals and other sources including titles on statistics for many applications.