This is the "About" page of the "Government Publications: United States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Government Publications: United States   Tags: government_publications  

Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/GovernmentPublications Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search for a research guide: 
 
 

FDLP

 

About Government Publications at Tufts University

Tisch Library at Tufts University was designated a Federal Depository Library on December 20, 1899. It is the depository library for the 7th Congressional District of Massachusetts. The Government Printing Office (GPO), through the Federal Depository Library Program, distributes publications issued by hundreds of departments and agencies throughout the three branches of the Federal Government. Tufts is a selective depository and currently selects 37% of available publications. The Boston Public Library is the regional depository library for the state of Massachusetts and has a comprehensive collection. It is also possible to purchase government publications through the U.S. Government Online Bookstore.

Public Access - Guaranteed

In-library access to government information is guaranteed by the U.S. law governing the Federal Depository Library Program. People of the general public are encouraged to use this vast and important resource of government information.

Most of the government documents are located in compact shelving on Level 1, downstairs, and are classified according to the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system. This collection has not been cataloged and the records do not appear in the library catalog. Specialized indexes, to identify and access government documents, are available electronically. Consult the other webpages in this section for finding government information. We now receive records for electronic publications which are in the Tufts Catalog. If you add Electronic resources (Federal publications) to your search you will find publications on your topic.

Government publications can be a treasure trove of information, covering all different disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and all the sciences. You can find publications from the Smithsonian Institution and the Library of Congress to the Department of Agriculture and Education. Here is an overview of the types of publications you can find in our collection.

Presidential papers Congressional hearings and reports
Budget of the United States Government Bills and laws
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Federal regulations
U.S. Supreme Court cases Patents and trademarks
Census publications Area studies
Statistical information Subject bibliographies

Selected government publications are shelved with books and periodicals throughout the Tufts Libraries. These holdings do appear in the library catalog. Some of the more popular publications, such as the census, Budget, and other statistical sources, are kept in the reference collection. These publications and Massachusetts reference sources, also found in Tisch Reference, are also entered in the catalog. Most of the documents may be checked out, to Tufts users, at the circulation desk (617-627-3347).

The Ginn Library at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy has a collection of United Nations Documents on microfiche.

Assistance

Government Publications reference service is combined with general reference service. If you need assistance in locating and retrieving information, please go to the reference desk on the main level of the library, during our service hours; call us at (617) 627-3460. If you have in-depth research needs contact Connie Reik, Coordinator of Government Publications at 617-627-2073 or email her.

Help with Research

Profile Image
Connie Reik
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian for the Social Sciences and Government Publications/Information
Tisch Library
617-627-2073
Work Hours w/appt
M, T, Th, F 9ish-5pm; Wed 2pm-9pm
Desk Hours: M 1-3pm, W 5-9p
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip